Accolades continue to roll in for area track and field athletes with All-Sunflower League teams being released

Lawrence High junior Evann Seratte highlighted the area selections to the All-Sunflower League track and field teams after being tabbed to the first team for the 400 meters, 800 meters and 4×400-meter relay.

Ozi Ajekwu, Hannah Stewart and Asjah Harris were on the first-team 4×400-meter relay with Seratte. Harris was also a first-team selection for the 200 meters.

Free State’s Cameryn Thomas (300-meter hurdles) and Auna Childress (triple jump) represented Free State on the all-league girls team as second-team selections. Chisom Ajekwu (shot put), Baylee Unruh, Josie Hickerson (pole vault) and the Lions’ 4×100-meter relay team earned second-team honors.

Honorable mentions for the all-league girls team included Thomas (long jump), Lawrence High’s Krissy Howard (shot put), LHS’ Hannah Stewart (800 meters) and the Lions’ 4×800-meter relay.

Hunter Krom was the lone area male athlete to earn a spot on the first team. Krom and teammate Harrison King respectively earned first-and second-team honors in the javelin.

Lawrence High’s Bryce Tibke was named as an honorable mention in the shot put and the discus. Free State’s JaBrandion Douglas and Lawrence High’s Dre’Shun Bridges were both selected as honorable mentions in the 100 meters. Free State’s Michael Pettit rounded out the all-league selections from the area as an honorable mention in the high jump.

All-Sunflower League teams


First team

Shot put — Markita Swanagan, Leavenworth

Discus — Dana Baker, Olathe North

Javelin — Dana Baker, Olathe North

Pole vault — Abigail Kelly-Salo, Shawnee Mission Northwest

Long jump — Bailey Turner, Olathe East

Triple jump — Jessie Stindt, SM East

High jump — Maddie Righter, Olathe Northwest; Dani Winslow, Olathe South

100 — Aarika Lister, Leavenworth

200 — Asjah Harris, Lawrence High

400 — Evann Seratte, Lawrence High

800 — Evann Seratte, Lawrence High

1600 — Molly Born, SM Northwest

3200 — Molly Born, SM Northwest

100 hurdles — Kayle McKie, Olathe North

300 hurdles — Dani Winslow, Olathe South

4×100 — Leavenworth (Keshyliah Jackson, Wynter Ramos, Saniyah Hammonds, Aarika Lister); Olathe Northwest (Jaleesa McWashington, Madeline Righter, Breanne Geary, Delaney Shaffer)

4×400 — Lawrence High (Ozi Ajekwu, Hannah Stewart, Asjah Harris, Evann Seratte)

4×800 — SM West (Dara Williams, Mia Wilhoit, Erin Bender, Lindsey Rowlatt); Olathe North (Hannah Rodina, Claire Fuhlhage, Sarah Whitaker, Zoey Schillinger)

Unanimous first-team selections (league, regional and state champions) — Dana Baker, Olathe North (discus and javelin); Abigail Kelly-Salo, SM Northwest (pole vault)

Second team

Shot put — Chisom Ajekwu, Lawrence High

Discus — Markita Swanagan, Leavenworth

Javelin — Baylee Unruh, Lawrence High

Pole vault — Josie Hickerson, Lawrence High

Long jump — Jaleesa McWashington, Olathe Northwest; Maddie Righter, Olathe Northwest

Triple jump — Auna Childress, Free State; Jaleesa McWashington, Olathe Northwest

High jump — Tori Englund, SM East

100 — Kendra Wait, Gardner Edgerton

200 — Wynter Ramos, Leavenworth

400 — Wynter Ramos, Leavenworth

800 — Molly Born, SM Northwest; Helmi Vuorimaa, Olathe South

1600 — Ingrid Worth, SM East

3200 — Katie Kasunic, SM North

100 hurdles — Brea Turner, Olathe North; Macy McKee, Olathe Northwest

300 hurdles — Cameryn Thomas, Free State

4×100 — Lawrence High

4×400 — Olathe South

4×800 — SM East

Honorable Mention

Shot put — Kauilani Misipeka, SM North; Krissy Howard, Lawrence High

Discus — Angelina Butler, Olathe South; Kennedy Krumm, SM East

Javelin — Breanna Davidson, Gardner Edgerton; Danielle Scaduto, SM North

Pole vault — Kendra Wait, Gardner Edgerton; Morgan McIntire, Gardner Edgerton

Long jump — Cameryn Thomas, Free State

Triple jump — Bailey Turner, Olathe East

High jump — Jessie Stindt, SM East

100 — Destiny Ray, SM East; Delaney Shaffer, Olathe Northwest

200 — Destiny Ray, SM East; Aarika Lister, Leavenworth

400 — Kiley Moorehouse, Gardner Edgerton; Jasmine Patterson, SM West

800 — Hannah Stewart, Lawrence High

1600 — Claire Fuhlhage, Olathe North; Katie Kasunic, SM North

3200 — Jenna Mullen, Olathe West; Claire Fuhlhage, Olathe North; Keagan Stiers, SM North

100 hurdles — Jade Osborn, Olathe Northwest

300 hurdles — Jade Osborn, Olathe Northwest; Katie Wingate, Olathe East

4×100 — SM East

4×400 — SM West; Olathe Northwest

4×800 — Lawrence High


First team

Shot put — Travis Morrison, SM Northwest

Discus — Michael Marinakis, Olathe Northwest

Javelin — Hunter Krom, Lawrence High

Pole vault — Seth Mosburg, SM Northwest

Long jump — Sam Macklin, SM South

Triple jump — Chanler Taylor, SM Northwest

High jump — Jackson Durst, SM West

100 — Joseph Brown, Olathe Northwest

200 — Hayden Goodpaster, SM Northwest

400 — Hayden Goodpaster, SM Northwest

800 — Julian Lacey, Olathe Northwest

1600 — Asher Molina, SM North

3200 — Asher Molina, SM North

110 hurdles — Ike Diggs, SM North

300 hurdles — Emmanuel Okwnone, Olathe South

4×100 — Gardner Edgerton (Jakob Renaud, Matthew Beyer, TaeVheon Alcorn, SaeVheon Alcorn)

4×400 — SM Northwest (Josh Sherfy, Peyton Carder, Julian Gutierrez, Hayden Goodpaster)

4×800 — Olathe East (Alexander Kirk, Jacob Breon, Neil Tony Kosgei, Jacob Vermillion)

Unanimous first-team selections (league, regional and state champions) — Hayden Goodpaster, SM Northwest (400); Asher Molina, SM North (1600); Jackson Durst, SM West (high jump)

Second team

Shot put — Reid Stimach, SM Northwest

Discus — Travis Morrison, SM Northwest

Javelin — Harrison King, Lawrence High

Pole vault — Colton Goodman, Gardner Edgerton

Long jump — Hezekiah Newman, Olathe East

Triple jump — Reginald Edwards, SM West

High jump — Dayton Williams, Gardner Edgerton

100 — Jakob Renaud, Gardner Edgerton

200 — Brady Larson, Olathe West

400 — Guy Ramos, Leavenworth

800 — Spencer Kaleko, SM Northwest; Jeremiah Tesfaye, Olathe South

1600 — Cade Heikes, Olathe North

3200 — Trent Cochran, Gardner Edgerton

110 hurdles — Hezekiah Newman, Olathe East

300 hurdles — Anthony Shields, Olathe South

4×100 — SM Northwest

4×400 — Gardner Edgerton

4×800 — Olathe South

Honorable Mention

Shot put — Bryce Tibke, Lawrence High; Connor Boyd, Olathe Northwest; Tyler Chaffee, Gardner-Edgerton

Discus — Reid Stimach, SM Northwest; Bryce Tibke, Lawrence High

Javelin — Joe Placek, Olathe West; Will Scofield, Olathe East

Pole vault — Jonathan Sommerfeld, SM Northwest; William Sutton, Gardner Edgerton

Long jump — Reginald Edwards, SM West; De’Mario Hanson, Olathe Northwest

Triple jump — ZhanArden Vil, SM Northwest; Teven McKelvey, Gardner Edgerton

High jump — Marcus Davis, Olathe North; Michael Pettit, Free State

100 — JaBrandion Douglas, Free State; Dre’Shun Bridges, Lawrence High

200 — SaeVheon Alcorn, Gardner Edgerton; Josh Sherfy, SM Northwest

400 — Julian Lacey, Olathe Northwest; Michael Patterson, SM West

800 — Brandon Clark, Olathe North

1600 — Michael Scott, SM Northwest; Jose Joey Guzman, Olathe North

3200 — Jose Joey Guzman, Olathe North; Jacob Wheat, SM South

110 hurdles — ZhanArden Vil, SM Northwest; Anthony Shields, Olathe South

300 hurdles — Ike Diggs, SM North; Luc Winkelmolen, SM Northwest

4×100 — Olathe South; SM North

4×400 — Olathe South; Leavenworth

4×800 — SM East; SM Northwest


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.