Eight area players tabbed to All-Sunflower League Baseball first team; Free State’s Mike Hill named COY

Free State baseball coach Mike Hill was selected as the Sunflower League Coach of the Year to highlight the area selections from the all-league team.

Five Free State players and three Lawrence High players were tabbed to the first team. The trio of Austin Quick (catcher), Andrew Stewart (shortstop) and Reese Carmona (outfielder) were first-team selections for the Lions. Kyle Abrahamson (outfielder), Quinton Graham (designated hitter), Jake Baker (utility), David Stuart (pitcher) and Jake Zenger (closer) represented the Firebirds on the first team.

Lawrence High pitcher Ian Henricks and Free State pitcher Ethan Bradford were second-team picks.

All-Sunflower League team

First team

Catcher — Austin Quick, Lawrence High

First base — Zach Todd, Shawnee Mission West

Second base — Kyle Shiever, Olathe Northwest

Third base — Brandon Ryan, Olathe South

Shortstop — Andrew Stewart, Lawrence High

Outfield — Kyle Abrahamson, Free State

Outfield — Tyler Henry, Gardner Edgerton

Outfield — Reese Carmona, Lawrence High

Outfield — Ryan Koval, Olathe South

Designated hitter — Quinton Graham, Free State

Designated hitter — Noah Steele, SM East

Utility — Jake Baker, Free State

Pitcher — David Stuart, Free State

Pitcher — Jon Moll, Olathe South

Pitcher — Zach Todd, SM West

Pitcher — Josh Flack, SM Northwest

Pitcher — George Specht, SM Northwest

Closer — Jake Zenger, Free State

Second team

Catcher — Cade Wilson, Olathe East

First base — Chris Closser, SM East

Second base — Robert Moore, SM East

Third base — Jacob Ramirez, SM Northwest

Shortstop — Brady Slavens, Olathe Northwest

Outfield — Ja’Hawn Byrd, Leavenworth

Outfield — Joey Olson, Olathe East

Outfield — Grant Strong, Olathe East

Outfield — Matt Olson, SM West

Designated hitter — Wyatt Morgan, Olathe Northwest

Utility — Brady Walker, Olathe Northwest

Utility — Garrett Pennington, SM West

Pitcher — Dalton Mall, SM East

Pitcher — Joey Olson, Olathe East

Pitcher — Ian Henricks, Lawrence High

Pitcher — Ethan Bradford, Free State

Pitcher — Daniel Hammond, SM East

Closer — Zavier Morin, Gardner Edgerton

Player of the Year — Zach Todd, SM West

Pitcher of the Year — Jon Moll, Olathe South

Coach of the Year — Mike Hill, Free State


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.