Bowlin named league Player of the Year

June 16, 2017


Free State senior Zion Bowlin was selected as the Sunflower League’s baseball Player of the Year, announced at the end of the season.

Bowlin, who will play at Hutchinson Community College, earned first-team all-league honors at third base, batting .461 with 22 runs and 24 RBIs.

Free State senior Nate Strathman (second base) and senior Dale Miller (pitcher) were first team selections. Miller picked up second team honors at first base for his hitting.

Lawrence High junior pitcher Devin Lauts and Free State senior outfielder Daniel Bryant were recognized with second-team all-league honors.

2017 All-Sunflower League baseball team

First team infield: Henry Miller (1B), sr., Shawnee Mission East; Nate Strathman (2B), sr., Free State; Zion Bowlin (3B), sr., Free State; Carson Sader (SS), sr., Olathe North.

First team outfield: Trevor McCracken, sr., Olathe South; Jake Randa, sr., Shawnee Mission East; Zach Adams, sr., Shawnee Mission West; Joey Olson, jr., Olathe East.

First team catcher: Cade Wilson, jr., Olathe East.

First team designated hitter: Cameron Fritz, sr., Shawnee Mission East.

First team utility player: Mason Green, sr., Olathe Northwest.

First team pitchers: Luke Anderson, sr., Shawnee Mission East; Henry Miller, sr., Shawnee Mission East; Dale Miller, sr., Free State; Collin Jones, sr., Leavenworth; Zebulon Vermillion, sr., Shawnee Mission East.

First team closer: Dylan Nedved, sr., Shawnee Mission Northwest.

Second team infield: Zach Todd (1B), jr., Shawnee Mission West; Dale Miller (1B), sr., Free State; Dalton Watkins (2B), sr., Leavenworth; Brady Slavens (3B), so., Olathe Northwest; Luke Anderson (SS), sr., Shawnee Mission East.

Second team outfield: Alex Rice, jr., Shawnee Mission Northwest; Daniel Bryant, sr., Free State; Griffin Larsen, jr., Shawnee Mission South; Clayton Phillips, sr., Shawnee Mission East.

Second team catchers: Jonah Watt, sr., Shawnee Mission East; Dawson Kabler, sr., Olathe Northwest.

Second team designated hitter: Reid Seacat, jr., Olathe Northwest.

Second team utility player: Garrett Pennington, so., Shawnee Mission West.

Second team pitchers: Grayson Howell, jr., Olathe East; Brady Walker, jr., Olathe Northwest; Devin Lauts, jr., Lawrence; Joe Todd, sr., Shawnee Mission Northwest; Spencer Nelson, jr., Olathe East.

Second team closer: Alex Hansen, sr., Olathe Northwest.

Player of the Year: Zion Bowlin, Free State.

Pitcher of the Year: Luke Anderson, Shawnee Mission East.

Coach of the Year: Jerrod Ryherd, Shawnee Mission East.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.