High School Sports

High School Sports

Area baseball players earn state honors

June 6, 2014


Perry-Lecompton High product Zach Linquist was named the Class 4A-II Player of the Year by the Kansas Association of Baseball Coaches.

Linquist earned first-team honors as a closer, striking out 54 batters in only 31 innings with a 2.56 ERA.

Perry-Lecompton pitcher Drew Scrimsher and Eudora outfielder JT Howell earned second-team recognition.

In Class 6A, Lawrence High catcher Drew Green and pitcher Brandon Bell were selected for the first team, while Free State closer Casey Hearnen was a second-team honoree.

Mill Valley’s Bret Messer (third base), Nick Wilson (outfield) and Coltyn Gatton (outfield) were picked for the 5A first team, and teammates Tyler Garrison (catcher) and Tyler Willard (outfield) made the second team.

Baldwin outfielder Chad Berg and shortstop Brock Randels, along with De Soto third baseman Dylan Holden, earned first team honors in Class 4A-I. Tonganoxie pitcher Travis Woods and outfielder Shane Levy, De Soto pitcher Jack Mayes, and Baldwin first baseman Colton Stark and outfielder Ben Brungardt were recognized on the second team.

Oskaloosa outfielder Bryce Stottlemire picked up a first-team honor in 3A, while teammate Luis Rodriguez was placed on the second team as a utility player. Wellsville pitchers Luke Meyer and Shamus Kearney also earned second-team recognition.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.