League honors Baker football, coach

November 26, 2013


Baker University’s Mike Grossner was named Heart of America Athletic Conference coach of the year, and the Wildcats earned 24 All-HAAC honors on Monday.

Grossner became just the second Baker coach to be named league coach of the year. The last was six-time winner Charlie Richard, the last in 1993.

Baker, which has a school-record 11 victories heading into its NAIA Football Championship Series Quarterfinals matchup Saturday in Baldwin City with Morningside (1 p.m., Liston Stadium), shared the HAAC regular-season championship.

Baker’s Clarence Clark earned two first-team all-league honors —at kicker and as an athlete on defense. He was a second-team wide receiver.

Sheldon Jacks and Darrick Smith also earned first-team honors.

Joining Clark on the offensive second team were teammates Justin McCandless, Dillon Baxter and Jake Morse.

Baker landed four players on the defensive second team: Austin Hamm, Mike Stevenson, Gunnar McKenna and Adam Novak. Novak was the only freshman named to the All-HAAC Defensive Second Team.

Punter Bryan Williams and running back Camren Torneden were named to the third team.

Nine Wildcats earned honorable mention: TJ Holtrop, Tyler Hatcher, Michael Lisher, Scott Meyer, Nick Becker, Myron Tipton, Tucker Pauley, Duane Sims and Torneden.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.