Archive for Tuesday, November 5, 2013

40 years ago: HOPE award finalists chosen

November 5, 2013


From the Lawrence Daily Journal-World for Nov. 5, 1973:

Five Kansas University faculty members had been selected this week as finalists for 1973's HOPE award. The award (Honor to the Outstanding Progressive Educator) was presented annually by the KU senior class; this year's recipient would be honored at halftime at the KU-Colorado football game later this week. The winner would receive $300, and all five finalists would be represented senior jerseys and mugs at the upcoming Higher Education Week banquet. The five finalists this year were Edward J. McGride, professor of mechanical engineering; Jess H. McNish, adjunct professor of business; Lee F. Young, associate professor of journalism; Charles F. Sudman, professor of history; and David M. Quadagno, associate professor of physiology and cell biology. They had been selected by an all-student committee, which had interviewed 10 semifinalists in October.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.