High School Sports

High School Sports

City football stars named all-league

December 2, 2013


Free State High senior quarterback Joe Dineen became the Sunflower League’s first recipient of the Andre Maloney Award, given to the football league’s season MVP, and the Firebirds landed four players on the all-league first team in 2013.

Dineen, a first-team selection at quarterback and safety, was joined on the list by senior receiver Khadre Lane, junior offensive lineman Scott Frantz and senior linebacker Keith Loneker.

Lawrence High seniors Kyle Wittman (offensive lineman) and Zay Boldridge (kick returner) made the first team, too.

FSHS second-team choices were junior defensive back Joel Spain, senior defensive lineman Zach Bickling and senior kicker Alex Trent.

Representing the Lions on the second team was senior back Drew Green, as a running back and linebacker.

The following FSHS players received honorable mention: senior offensive linemen Reid Buckingham and Tyler Sampson, junior lineman Shane Hofer (offense and defense), senior tight end Bickling, senior linebacker, receiver and punter Blake Winslow, senior receiver Loneker, junior receiver Spain, senior running back/linebacker Stan Skwarlo, junior defensive lineman Josiah LeBrun, senior linebacker Lucas Werner and sophomore defensive back Bryce Torneden.

Honorable-mention choices from LHS were sophomore offensive lineman Amani Bledsoe, sophomore linebackers Tanner Green and Alan Clothier, sophomore linebacker and tight end Price Morgan, sophomore defensive back JD Woods, junior offensive lineman Cole Greenwood, junior kicker Ellis Springe, senior offensive linemen Alex Jones and Matt Weiss, and senior defensive backs Kieran Severa and Tucker Sutter.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.