Archive for Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Six more Kansas counties added to disaster proclamation after storms, flooding

July 6, 2011


— Six Kansas counties have been added to a state disaster declaration generated by storms and flooding.

The Hays Daily News reported that Gov. Sam Brownback signed the disaster proclamation Tuesday for the six counties, which are Rush, Barton, Hamilton, Kearney, Morton and Stanton. The announcement brings the total number of counties included in the emergency proclamation to 45.

Brownback said the declaration opens the door for state assistance and possibly for a request for federal assistance.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.