Archive for Saturday, December 12, 2009

Around and about

December 12, 2009


Julia and Riley Scott, Baltimore, Md., announce the birth of their daughter, Olivia Clare Scott, on Oct. 22, 2009, in Baltimore.

Her maternal grandparents are Tom and Susan Wagle, Wichita; her paternal grandparents are Mike and Nancy Scott, Lawrence. Her great-grandparents are Willard and Linda Kratz, and Julia Wagle, all of Wichita.

West Junior High School won the second place trophy in K-8, while Lawrence High School (K-12), Southwest Junior High School (K-8) and Sunset Hill School (K-6) all placed third at the Ottawa High School Chess Tournament Dec. 5 at Ottawa High School. Sunflower’s Apramay Mishra was the K-6 individual champion.

Local medal winners in K-12 were Venkata Malladi, SWJH, ninth; Brandon Marcure, LHS, 10th; Matthew Ledbetter, WJH, 14th; Wuwei Xu, LHS, 15th; Andrew Galbraith, LHS, 16th; and Dustin Haugtman, SWJH, 17th.

In K-8: Eddie Wilson, Central Junior High School, third; Sam Beaulieu, CJH, fourth; Owen McFadden, South Junior High School, eighth; Robert Newman, SJH, ninth; Aaron Simon, WJH, 10th; Kaustubh Nimkar, SWJH, 11th; Tom Brooks, WJH, 14th; Joseph Miller, WJH, 15th; Caleb Ledbetter, WJH, 17th; Christopher Greenfield, SWJH, 18th; and George Wedge, CJH, 21st.

In K-6: Josh Kallenbach, Quail Run, fourth; Jackson Maher, Cordley, ninth; Michael Pate, Sunset Hill, 10th; Max Briggs, Prairie Park, 12th; Ting-Ting Shi, Quail Run, 17th; Bennett Haase-Divine, Sunset Hill, 19th; Diane Camarda, Sunset Hill, 20th; and Dusty Morris, Prairie Park, 22nd.

In K-3: Remington Wilson, Sunset Hill, third; Jasmine Mihu, Prairie Park, seventh; Lincoln Edgecomb, Sunset Hill, eighth; Elizabeth Haase, 10th; Hannah Ledbetter, Sunset Hill, 11th; Sebi Brown, Cordley, 14th; Guthrie Bricker, Cordley, 17th; Lacey Greenfield, Prairie Park, 19th; Colin Greenfield, Prairie Park, 21st; and Logan Camarda, Sunset Hill, 22nd.

Cori Allen, Lawrence, was named to the spring 2009 dean’s list at Babson College in Wellesley, Mass., by earning a grade-point average of at least 3.30 for the semester.

Lauren Oberzan, Lawrence, was chosen to serve as secretary of the Sigma Alpha Lambda, a national leadership and honors organization, at Kansas University.

Douglas County youth earned scholarships and auction premiums on champion livestock during the 77th Kansas Junior Livestock Show Sept. 25-28 at the Kansas Coliseum in Wichita. In all, 744 4-H and FFA members from 83 counties participated in the show.

KJLS awarded $18,950 in scholarships to exhibitors. Among those receiving scholarships were Hilary Saathoff, Tonganoxie, $1,500; and Abby Guenther, Ottawa, $1,000. Shelby Leonhard, Oskaloosa was named reserve champion senior cattle showman at the event. Other area winners are:

• Nikki-Lee Aguilar, Lecompton — sixth in class 14, crossbred market steer; seventh in class 11, crossbred market steer; eighth in class 15, shorthorn breeding heifer.

• Grace Baxter, Overbrook — sixth in class 12, crossbred market steer.

• Bailey Brown, Baldwin City — seventh in class 9, Hampshire market barrow.

• Taylor Davis, Tonganoxie — fifth in class 18, shorthornplus breeding heifer.

• Lacey Hunsinger, Lawrence — eighth in class 4, Duroc market barrow; ninth in class 21, crossbred market barrow.

• Tyler Kapelle, Lawrence — fifth in class 23, crossbred market barrow; sixth in class 21, crossbred market barrow.

• Coy Leming, Lawrence — eighth in class 7, Angus breeding heifer.

• Alexis Leonard, Eudora — 12th in class 6, Hampshire market barrow; eighth in class 3, Duroc market barrow.

• Justin Leonard, Eudora — 11th in class 16, crossbred market barrow.

• Jessye Schumann, Lecompton — third in class 11, Hereford breeding heifer; fifth in class 9, Hereford breeding heifer.

• Wyatt Schumann, Lecompton — second in class 11, Hereford breeding heifer; second in class 45, commercial breeding heifer.

• Taylor Springer, Lawrence — eighth in class 47, commercial breeding heifer.

• Taylor Stanley, Baldwin City — second in class 14, commercial ewe; second in class 9, Suffolk market lamb; third in class 22, Hampshire market lamb; grand champion commercial ewe.

• Troy Stanley, Baldwin City — third in class 13, crossbred market lamb.

• Emma Stewart, Baldwin City — second in class 15, commercial ewe; eighth in class 2, natural market lamb.

• Reilly Stewart, Baldwin City — second in class 13, crossbred market lamb.

• Holly Swearingen, Lawrence — second in class 3, natural market lamb; third in class 2, Dorset breeding ewe; fifth in class 8, speckled market lamb; reserve champion Hampshire breeding ewe.

• Griffin Weheman, Baldwin City — fifth in class 1, lightweight market barrow.

• Gunther Weheman, Baldwin City — sixth in class 2, heavyweight market barrow.

• Kelsey Wulfkuhle, Berryton — second in class 3, Angus breeding heifer.

• Madison Wulfkuhle, Berryton — third in class 5, Angus breeding heifer.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.