Archive for Tuesday, May 28, 2002

Pedregon wins Summer Nationals

May 28, 2002


— Tony Pedregon raced to his second Funny Car victory of the year and second straight at Heartland Park Topeka Sunday, winning the O'Reilly NHRA Summer Nationals.

Pedregon had a quarter-mile run of 4.910 seconds at 320.58 mph to hold off Tim Wilkerson (4.999 at 302.69).

Pedregon, a 15-time winner in his Funny Car career, moved into third place in the season standings, giving owner John Force and his three-car team the top three spots.

Darrell Russell and Troy Coughlin also won their divisions in the $1.8 million competition.

Russell raced to his third career Top Fuel victory, beating Larry Dixon with a run of 4.638 at 314.90. Coughlin topped the Pro Stock competition, beating Mark Whisnant with a run of 6.924 at 198.44.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.