Archive for Saturday, April 6, 2002

New directors join Lawrence chamber board

April 6, 2002


The Lawrence Chamber of Commerce approved nine new directors to serve on its board for 2002-2003. The new directors officially joined the 27-member board at the group's annual meeting Friday at the Lawrence Holidome. Each new member will serve a three-year term, which will expire in March 2005.

The newly elected directors are:

Mark Anderson, attorney with Barber, Emerson, Springer, Zinn & Murray LC. Anderson received a juris doctorate from Kansas University. He was admitted to the Kansas and Missouri bar associations in 1990. Anderson was on the KU Law Review and president of Young Lawyers Section of the Douglas County Bar Assn. He is a Leadership Lawrence graduate, a Lawrence Country Club board of directors member, and a former board of directors member of the Lawrence Public Library Foundation and Lawrence Kiwanis Club.

Allen Bohl, KU athletics director. Bohl's career in athletics administration began at Ohio State University where he was assistant athletics director. Bohl provided leadership for programs at the University of Toledo and Fresno State University during the past 14 years and was named KU athletics director in June.

Mark Buhler, vice president of Stephens Real Estate Inc. Buhler has lived in Lawrence since 1958. He attended Lawrence schools and graduated from KU in 1977. He has served on the boards of the Lawrence Chamber of Commerce, Boys and Girls Club, Salvation Army, Lawrence Plymouth Congregational Church, Cottonwood Foundation and Rotary Club. He has served on the Community Development Block Grant Board, Lawrence-Douglas County Planning Commission and Douglas County Commission.

Joan Golden, senior vice president at US Bank. Golden has been a resident of the Lawrence community for 30 years and is a KU graduate. She is vice chair of the Business/Education Partnership board of directors, steering committee member of the Lawrence Arts Center's Capital Campaign, AAUW Lawrence Branch vice chair of membership, and an elder of First Presbyterian Church. She has served as chair of the Vision 21st Century Task Force on Meeting the Challenges of Serving Special Care Kansans, president and campaign chair of the Douglas County United Way, president of the KU Memorial Corp. board of directors, chair of the Lawrence Memorial Hospital board of trustees, and chair of the Kansas Banker's Assn.'s Marketing Committee.

Megan Hiebert, owner of Clinton Marina. A lifelong resident of Lawrence, Hiebert attended Lawrence High School and graduated from KU in 1991. In July 1998, Hiebert acquired Clinton Lake Marina.

Shirley Martin-Smith, president of Martin-Smith Personnel Services Inc. & Adecco. Martin-Smith has been in the staffing industry since 1976, specializing in executive search and placement. She opened a career placement business in 1987. She was United Way campaign chair in 1987 and on the founding board of Leadership Lawrence. She was mayor of Lawrence in 1990 while serving four years on the Lawrence City Commission. Martin-Smith has had extensive involvement in the Douglas County Economic Development Board since 1993, and is a member of the Workforce Network of Kansas Board.

Doug Holiday, general manager of Hereford House in Lawrence. He is chair of the Lawrence Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Stephen Mona, CEO and CAE of the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America. Mona served as tournament director of the Northern California Golf Assn. from September 1980 to January 1982. He has been assistant manager of press relations for the United States Golf Assn. and executive director of the Georgia State Golf Assn. He serves appointments to numerous professional golf associations such as World Golf Hall of Fame selection committee, board of directors of the National Golf Foundation, and National Minority Golf Foundation board of directors.

Philip Struble, president of Landplan Engineering. Struble received bachelor's and master's degrees at KU. He has professional engineer registration in several Midwestern states. Struble worked for several engineering firms in the Denver area, joined Landplan in 1987, and was named president and chief executive in 1997.

Directors whose terms expired in March are: Scot Buxton, Charlton Manley Insurance Inc.; Bob Frederick, Kansas University; Gunda Hiebert, The Bay Leaf; Mike McGrew, Coldwell Banker McGrew Real Estate; Roger Morningstar, Sport 2 Sport; Miles Schnaer, Crown Chevrolet-Oldsmobile Inc.; Sandra Shaw, Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center; and Chuck Warner, US Bank.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.