Archive for Saturday, September 22, 2001

Around and about

September 22, 2001


Lawrence high school students will be honored Tuesday by the Kansas University Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association. The students will be named Kansas Honor Scholars during a 7 p.m. program and reception at the Lied Center on KU's campus.

Free State High School students who will be honored are Ethan Andyshak, Joel Beard, Megan Bird, Lindsay Black, Eryn Brown, Katherine Bushouse, Kelli Criswell, Jonathan Ewing, Lynn Feng, Stacie Garland, Julie Garlow, Stephen Godfrey, Rebekah Heacock, Julia Hurst, Catherine Kelly, Matthew Maness, Elise McDaneld-Campbell, Emily McWilliams, Sammana Nanthavongsa, Jesse Page-Adams, Silvey Perkins, Nicholas Potter, Emily Reeves, Jennifer Rogers, Wendy Rush, Micah Salkind, Erin Schelar, Andrew Schulte, Julie Seidel, Jennifer Sheldon-Sherman, Chandra Shenoy, Rishi Surana, Christy Wheeler, Lauren Wright, Emily Yessen and Michael Zerwekh.

Lawrence High School students who will be honored are Nicholas Allen, Derek Bailey, Heather Baker, Keith Beisner, Patrick Bengtson, Brian Bondurant, Jeffrey Breithaupt, Ashlyn Buck, Sarah Butler, Peter Clark, Jeffrey Cravens, Hunter Davis, Jennifer Donnally, Cailinn Drouin, Sarah Fisher, Sonja Fleischauer, Julia Gegenheimer, Cassandra Glinski, Casey Green, Laura Harrington, Andrea Hemphill, Kristen Jordan, Fatemeh Kadivar, Elizabeth Karpowitz, Christa Keel, Caitlin King, Laura King, Charlie Leifer, Bliss Lemmon, Lisa Lewin, Benet Magnuson, David Parkinson, Haley Pollock, Brittany Rank, Justin Riley, Stefany Samp, Rob Scott, Sarah Shapiro, Leslie Short, Andrea Stoneback, Anna Thurmaier, Meghan Walsh, Andrew Williams, Spencer Wilson and Melisa Xin.


Allison Rose and James O'Brien, both of Wichita, announce the birth of their son, Andrew Connor, born July 9, 2001, at Wesley Medical Center, Wichita.

Grandparents are Roger and Terri Rose, Eudora; Matthew O'Brien, Mulvane; and Janice O'Brien, Wichita.

Great-grandparents are Don and Gloria Bagby, Eudora; Don Rose, Louisville; Norma Rose, Linwood; Edythe Vannoy, Liberty, Ky.; Grace Bagby, Lawrence; and Leona Rose, Louisville.


Kelly and David Petry, Lawrence, announce the birth of their daughter, Katelyn Anne Petry, born Aug. 18, 2001, at Lawrence Memorial Hospital.

Maternal grandparents are Rose Meyeres, Great Bend, and the late James Meyeres. Paternal grandparents are Pete and Linda Petry, Lawrence.

Great-grandparents are Eileen Stouppe, Ligonier, Pa., and Marie Huslig, Great Bend.


Ardell Swafford, Baldwin, received a bachelor's degree in telecommunications from DeVry Institute of Technology during summer ceremonies. She is the daughter of Jeannette and Eldon Ray.


Roksana Alavi, Lawrence, graduated from Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, Okla., at the end of the 2001 summer session. She received an M.A. in philosophy.


Mary Martin, a Baldwin High School graduate, has been selected to join the Kansas State University College of Human Ecology honors program.

To be selected, entering students must earn an ACT composite score of 28 or higher. She is the daughter of Robert and Susan Martin, Baldwin.


Kansas State University announces area students who recently joined sororities and fraternities.

New sorority members are Bonny Martens, Natalie Michele Poholsky, Elizabeth Towner, Melissa Colgan, Jessica Morton, Melanie Wolfington, Katie McManness and Megan Cram, all of Lawrence; Megan Hayes, Jennifer Smith, Lindsay Roecker, Amanda Wiltse and Mary Ransom, all of Ottawa; Haley Gretencord, Jami Anderson and Tristyn Rutledge, all of Wellsville; and Heather Robbins, Oskaloosa.

New fraternity members are: Jacob Forbes, Lawrence; Sterling Smith, Jed Killough, Gary Pratt and Cody Showalter, all of Ottawa; Thane Combs, Pomona; Benjamin Winsor, Grantville; Nathan Heinen, Valley Falls; and Cameron Willcott, Linwood.


Area students recently joined the 2001 Kansas State University Marching Band. They are Cordia Schafer, Baldwin; Ashley White, Basehor; Michelle Duggan, Edgerton; Joshua Fike, Kate McNulty and Drew Salsbury, all of Lawrence; and Colleen Kramer, Oskaloosa.


Kansas State University announced 2001 summer graduates. Area graduates are Sarah Anderson, Christina Currey, Jill Mermis, Rodney Muller, Donna Reynolds and Regina Wasson, all of Lawrence; Wade Ball, Rantoul; Theresa Pentlin, Oskaloosa; Karen Gast and Shawna Saathoff, both of Valley Falls; and Nikki Sells, Tonganoxie.


Karen Currey has been recognized by the National Youth Leadership Forum for her efforts in enabling outstanding students from Lawrence High School to explore their career interests and expand their horizons through enriching experiential learning opportunities. She has been recognized for nominating promising young leaders to participate in NYLF forums on Law, Medicine and/or Defense, Intelligence and Diplomacy.


The Lawrence Accredited Music Teachers Assn. will present their first recital of the 2001-2002 season on Thursday at the Lawrence Arts Center.

Students who will be performing in the 7 p.m. recital are Wagner Tong, Gina Tong, Emily Keizer, Patrick Keizer, Hsin-yi Pan, Megan Andrews, Anna Cook, Adrienne Willems, Colleen Boley and Anne Kettle.

Students who will be performing in the 7:30 p.m. recital are Ludwig Ulrich, Wolfgang Johanning, Yared Alao-Etsehiywot, Naomi Alao-Etsehiywot, Jeffrey Ahle, Justine Ahle, Kelly Gibson, Kyle Gibson, James Shain, Joanne Heppert and Jennifer Heppert.

The performers represent the studios of Pat Burgstahler, Carol Cook, Jean Drumm, Sue Evans and Sylvia Frank.

The recitals are free and open to the public.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.