Archive for Saturday, September 8, 2001

Timmons Invitational today

September 8, 2001


Runners from DePaul University, Baker, Bethany College, Colby CC, Hastings College and Pittsburg State join the Jayhawks. Drake University will be competing with women only, while Truman State University will only be bringing men.

"I am very excited about the upcoming season and our first, and only, home meet at Rim Rock," said second-year KU coach Stanley Redwine. "Hopefully a lot of people will come out and watch us run. We've got a lot of great senior leadership on the team this year. The experience that they bring will help us do well this season."

Top returnees include Charlie Gruber and Laura Lavoie. A year ago, Gruber was the only KU runner to advance to the NCAA championships, where he finished in 61st place. Lavoie paced the women in five of the six events as a freshman, including a first place finish at the Timmons Invitational.

The men's team boasts seniors Mark Menefee and Brent Behrens. Menefee led all KU runners at the Timmons Invitational and Iowa State Open Invitational. Behrens paced the Jayhawks at the Oklahoma State Jamboree and the Chili Pepper Cross Country Festival. Paige Higgins, Lauren Brownrigg, and Courtney Deutsch are among the top runners for the women's team.

Menefee and Gruber are expected to miss today's meet as they are coming back from injuries.

"Our depth will be much better than before and hopefully our team placing will show that, and that will translate into a better season," said Redwine.

KU roster

Men: Benjamin Adams, Brandon Barrientez, Brent Behrens, Luke Belford, Brian Blachly, Garrett Call, Brandon Cherry, Ross Cohlmia, John DiCalogero, Andrew Easton, Christopher Finn, Tim Forthman, Charlie Gruber, Leonard Hansen, Brandon Hodges, Chris Jones, Jarris Kraphcha, Derec Lacio, Pete Laughlin, Joshy Madathil, Mark Menefee, Jeremy Mims, Ashkahn Negahban, Sean O'Grady, Pete Prince, Brian Raggett, Steve Vockrodt.

Women: Lauren Brownrigg, Courtney Deutsch, Diane Disher, Jennifer Duffy, Katy Eisenmenger, Paige Higgins, Eve Lamborn, Laura Lavoie, Megan Manthe, Julie Mullally, Arrah Nielsen, Kelli Reid, Katie Sellens, Marlena Smith.


Sept: 8-Timmons Invitational at Rim Rock Farm. 14-at Iowa State. 29-at Oklahoma State.

Oct. 13-at Arkansas. 27-Big 12 at Norman, Okla.

Nov. 10-NCAA Regional at Carbondale, Ill. 19-NCAA at Greenville, S.C.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.