Archive for Saturday, October 27, 2001

Around and about

October 27, 2001


Grandparents are Donna Mays, Cincinnati, and Danny and Becky Shockley, Eudora. Great-grandparents are Ruth Yother, Eudora; Vencil Shockley, Exeter, Mo.; and Paul and Wilma Miller, Cincinnati. Great-great-grandmother is Oral Highfield, Fort Scott, Ark.

Thuy and Trent Guess, Lawrence, announce the birth of their twin daughters, Olivia Anh Pham Guess and Audrey Anh Pham Guess, born Oct. 10, 2001, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center, Overland Park.

Monica and Gary Stark, Lawrence, announce the birth of their twin sons, Devin John-Oliver Stark and Alex John-Oliver Stark, born Oct. 12, 2001, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center, Overland Park.

Allison and Kevin Chesnut, Lawrence, announce the birth of their daughter, Dreyanna Debra Chesnut, born Oct. 12, 2001, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center, Overland Park.

Mike and Betty Collins, Lenexa, announce the birth of their son, Aidan Edward Collins, born Oct. 4, 2001, at the Birthing Center, Menorah Medical Center in Leawood.

Maternal grandparents are Vicki and Joe Douglas, Lawrence. Paternal grandparents are Michele Collins, Overland Park, and Jim Collins, St. Joseph, Mo.

Kathleen Schweitzberger, Lawrence, has been elected chairperson of the Faculty Senate at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. She is a librarian in the Miller Nichols Library at UMKC.

The Lawrence Accredited Music Teachers Assn. will present students in two recitals Thursday at the Lawrence Arts Center.

Students who will perform at 7 p.m. are Garrett Frank, Emily Keizer, Patrick Keizer, Megan Andrews, Marley Sutter, Erin Rice, Tanner Hale, Nolan Frank, Colin Toalson, Betty Jane Simpson, Helen Hawkins, Kristin Capps, Julia Barnard, Nicole Humphrey, Bryant Humphrey, Adam Davis, Amy Brown, Semantha Rose, Skylan Parrot, Cal Young, Adrienne Williams and Abigail Adams. They are the students of Sylvia Frank, Jean Drumm, Sue Evans and Carol Cook.

Students who will perform at 7:50 p.m. are Patricia Susanto, Andrea Susanto, Mei Butler, Bill Butker, Colleen Boley, Dan Stahl, Amy Stahl, Rance Graham-Baily, Jeff Miller, Magen Heacock and Ericka Brune. They are the students of Pat Burgstahler, Sue Kwak and Elaine de San Miguel.

The 63rd Willis Lee and Janie Smith reunion was Oct. 14 at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds. A prayer was given by Frances Wood, followed by a covered dish dinner. Nancy Demuth, Edmond, Okla., shared old photos.

The oldest person in attendance was Eldon Wood and the youngest person was Kathy Cool.

A silent auction and business meeting were held. Lawrence residents who attended were Robert and Nancy Smith; Elgar Smith; Tom, Nancy and Clinton Ruff; Shawn, Sharon and Kathy Cool; Bob and Linda Hodson; KyLee Hodson; Kevin and Conner Hodson; Bill and Roberta Fenstemaker; Orb and Pat Hardister; Danny and Velva Rollings; Brad and Ginny Conrad; Danny Molthop; Tammy Torneden; Andy Kannerick; Victor Adams; Jennifer and Alexandria Kimble; and Ben and Millie Hogan.

The next reunion will be from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Oct. 13, 2002, at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Meredith Norfolk, volunteer program director of Women's Transitional Care Services, participated in a session on reducing domestic violence through community policing in Salina.

The program, hosted by the Regional Community Policing Training Institute at Wichita State University, provides students with an understanding of factors contributing to domestic violence and the skills to identify factors that impact victim safety, survival skills and options for victims, and methods for offender accountability.

The Topeka High School Class of 1952 will have its 50-year class reunion Aug. 2-3, 2002, at the Capitol Plaza Hotel, 1717 Topeka Blvd. A luncheon and tour will be held Saturday at Topeka High School. Persons who know the whereabouts of any classmates are encouraged to call Jackie Mills Campbell Petersen at (785) 478-4858.

Jesse Tuel, Lawrence, was a homecoming candidate during Emporia State University's 2001 Homecoming.

Elizabeth Sebranek, a pharmacy student at Kansas University, was named the winner of the Kansas Employee Pharmacists Council's 2001 Student Patient Education Materials competition. She received the award during the Kansas Pharmacists Assn.'s recent annual meeting in Topeka.

She received the award for her design of a personal guide for monitoring asthma entitled "Your Peak Flow Meter Pocket Guide." The guide is designed to help asthma patients understand how to use a peak flow meter, how to interpret the results and how to treat their asthma based on the results. Pharmacies will be able to obtain Sebranek's guide for distribution to their patients.

Southwestern Bell telephone's annual Pioneer Day will be from 12:30 p.m. to 3 p.m. Friday in Building 1 at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds, 21st and Harper streets. Those attending are asked to bring a covered dish. Meat, drinks and table service will be provided.

Amy Armstrong, a Lawrence High School graduate, has been awarded the Presidential Scholarship at Lake Forest College, Lake Forest, Ill. The award is given to students who are in the top 20 percent of their high school class or maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 and have upper-range ACT or SAT scores. She is the daughter of John and Karen Armstrong, Lawrence.

Emporia State University announces its 2001-2002 scholarship recipients.

Area students who received awards were: Wesley Broyles, Mary Denning, Natalie Moreau, Kristina Saile, Baldwin; Jenny Cochran, Andrea Herbison, Noah Simpson, Joshua Updike, Basehor; Evan Browers, Evelyn Klempnauer, Sarah Phillips, Edgerton; Aimee Barber, Sarah Hinman, Autumn Newman, Eudora; Jana Borchardt, Kristin Brune, Michelle Brunt, Marc Connelly, Tyler Craig, Jack Gunselman, Maria Gunselman, Joanna Hetrick, David Humbarger, Lisa L'Ecuyer, Ashley Lockhart, Marcy McCabe, Donna McCullough, Erica Morgenstern, Melissa Pyle, Christopher Roady, Tiffany Rose, Eilizabeth Schmitz, Jason Smith, Jesse Tuel, Kathryn Wolfington, Lawrence; Kristal Bartholomew, Lauren Gantz, Sarah Hayes, Heather Pearce, Jeremiah Pearce, Lecompton; Carrie Havner, Linwood; Jeannett Moore, Crystal Welborn, Shaun White, Meriden; John Atwood, Miranda Baker, Deanna Barden, Deann Byard, Shawna Conrad, Geneva Fischer, Kevin Horner, Caleb James, Jason Robertson, Delaney Wolken; Osawatomie; and Lindsay Noll, Oskaloosa.

Kristen Bryan, Angie De Jarnette, Theresa Finch, Julie Hall, Cynthia Harness, Jessica James, Amy Jones, Sarahann Lamb, Allyson Lyman, Stephanie Norris, Christopher Pellant, Kraig Powell, Luke Rodina, Melody Smith, Dunley Stults, Lisa Wellman, Ottawa; Jodi Bachelor, Amanda Coppoc, Jennifer Coppoc, Brian Ferrell, Nichole Ferris, Dawn Shuck, Overbrook; Teresa Allen, Jared Dittmer, Ozawkie; David Dean, Brandon Herschell, Cristi Johnson, Leslie Jones, Perry; Laura Gilges, Shayleen Love, Christina Terry, Pomona; Jami Baker, Hannah Hobbs, Elizabeth Mathews, Michael Swickard, James Swirczynski, Stilwell; Diane Vogel, Sherrie Vogel, Tecumseh; Eli Crittenden, Jaclyn Wilson, Tonganoxie; Annekatrin Heinz, Christina Hosler, Shannon Knight, Valley Falls; Mindy Baker, Lori McDonald, Williamsburg; and Sara Swoyer, Winchester.

Twenty-three Kansans who have disabilities, or are parents of children with disabilities, will be honored for completing an eight-month innovative leadership program, Partners in Policymaking, at 1:30 p.m. Nov. 3 at the Ramanda Inn, 420 S.E. Sixth St. in Topeka.

Area residents being honored are Kristi Berkey, Brent Garner, Kathy Lobb and Cathy Tarr, Lawrence; Diana Bowlby and Tom Nichol, Ottawa; and Becky Friskel and Janet Steffy, Stilwell.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.