Archive for Saturday, March 31, 2001


March 31, 2001


Maternal grandparents are Rosalie and Monti Copp, Eudora. Paternal grandparents are Leon and Charmaine Billy, California. Great-grandparents are Pete and Mary James, Lawrence.


Free State High School senior, Tyler Fike, has been awarded the Kansas State University's Foundation Scholarship.


Denise Low, Lawrence, is one of 46 women whose work has been published in this year's Dust & Fire, an anthology of women's work printed annually by the Women's Studies Program and Women's Center of Bemidji State University, Bemidji, Minn.

Low is a published poet and short essay writer who teaches English and creative writing at Haskell Indian Nations University. She had a short story published titled "Been Here Too Long If I Know the Ghosts Before They Died."

Writers contributing to the anthology were honored during a reception and reading March 6 at the Headwaters School of Music and the Arts in Bemidji.


Teams representing Lawrence High School and Washington High School will compete in the 18th annual High Q championship finals at 10:30 a.m. today on WIBW CBS-13 television. The match will be rebroadcast at 6:30 p.m. April 1 on KTWU.

LHS was one of 16 teams that advanced to the finals during High Q competition Dec. 2 at Washburn University. LHS also placed first in the 6A classification.

The contest allowed teams of high school students from across Kansas to compete against one another by testing their knowledge of topics such as art, literature, history, math and science. The High Q championship team will be named in May.

LHS team members include: D.J. Watkins, Jesse Ryals, Mike Bateman, K.J. Swadley and Jay Wiesner.

Team coaches are Art Sloan and Danielle Lotton-Barker.


Tom Stutz, Lawrence, has retired as the Commanders' Representative (Installation Manager) at the Sunflower Army Ammunition Plant in DeSoto after nearly 42 years of federal service.

Tom began his career in 1959 at the Rock Island Arsenal in Rock Island, Ill. After serving at the arsenal for 17 years, he moved to Lawrence to begin work at the Sunflower plant where he has held his current position for the last 25 years.

A reception was held Wednesday in his honor. Tom's last day was March 30.


Kansas State Grange has designated the first week of April as "Be a Good Neighbor Week" for Granges in Kansas.

New Century Grange, Douglas County, will celebrate the week in the Lawrence area. Members will gather at 9 a.m. today to clean and organize the Douglas County Foster Parent Clothing Room in rural Lawrence.

Members also will meet April 2 at the Kanwaka Community Building to make lap pillows for local hospital and nursing home residents.


Andrew Novick, Lawrence, has earned high honors for the winter term at Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, N.H.

He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. David Novick, Lawrence.


Lisa and William Egan, Lawrence, announce the birth of their son, Jaxon William Egan, born March 18, 2001, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center.


Lisa and Adam Bryant, Lawrence, announce the birth of their son, Clayton Alan Bryant, born March 12, 2001, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center.

Grandparents are Jerry and Jeanne Lovell, Tonganoxie; Mike and Linda Powell, Lawrence; and Deborah Palmgren, Basehor.

Maternal great-grandparents are Jack and Joan Cronemeyer, Tonganoxie.


Roseann and Greg Rohe, Baldwin, announce the birth of their daughter, Jessica Ann Rohe, born March 13, 2001, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center.


The Free State High Spirit Squads held its annual recognition banquet on March 4.

Cheryl Slack, head coach of the spirit squads, acknowledged the coaching staff and members of the pom squad, and sophomore, junior varsity and varsity squads.

Members of the squads were recognized and given momentos, certificates and letters for their dedication.


Haskell Indian Nations University announces area students who made the fall 2000 semester honor roll. Students who made the President's Honor Roll earned a 4.0 grade point average. Students who made the Dean's Honor Roll earned at least a 3.5 GPA. The students who earned honors are:

President's Honor Roll: David Clark, Angela Fry, Hannah Johnson, Theresa Milk, Lisa Powell and Monette Terry, all of Lawrence.

Dean's Honor Roll: Frances Collins, Randolph Davis, Johnnie Fields, Stanley Holder, Kelly Thomas, Brian Miller, Floyd Silas, Leslie Terry, John Harjo, Jennifer Jilot, Melissa Johnson, Gorgina Nemeth, Hubert White, Charlene Yazzie, David Coyne, Mona Gonzales, Travis Prater, Frank Wolfe, all of Lawrence; Carlene Morris, Overbrook; and Amanda Clark, Ottawa.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.