Archive for Sunday, March 25, 2001


March 25, 2001


Stillwater, Okla. -- Senior Andy Tate won the 3,000-meter run and the 1,500 Saturday to lead Kansas University's track and field teams at the OSU Duels.

Tate's time in the 3,000 was 8:39.09 and his time in the 1,500 was 3:55.06.

KU pole vaulters Jeremy Hull (15-0) and Ty Williams (14-6) placed 1-2. KU thrower Ryan Speers won the shot put (57-3) and placed second in the discus (149-11). Anson Jackson and Jerreme Jackson placed 1-2 in the long jump for KU.

Other winners for the KU men were Benaud Shirley (triple jump) and Pete Prince (3,000 meter steeplechase).

Winners for the KU women were Jennifer Foster (shot put, discus), Andrea Bulat (javelin), Andrea Branson (pole vault) and Sarah Schraeder (high jump).

KU tops Texas Tech

in women's tennis

Lubbock, Texas -- Kansas University won five singles matches and a doubles match Saturday to upend Texas Tech, 5-2, in a women's tennis dual.

Monica Sekulov, Cheryl Mallaiah, Lisa Mallaiah, Christi Wagenaar and Emily Haylock won in singles for the Jayhawks, now 10-6 in duals and 4-3 in the Big 12. Texas Tech dipped to 6-6 and 2-5.

In doubles, Sekulov and Haylock teamed for KU's lone win.

KU has a week off before playing host to Colorado on April 1 and Kansas State on April 8.

Jayhawk rowers

win four races

Austin, Texas -- Kansas University's rowing team opened the spring season by winning four of seven races over Texas on Saturday at Town Lake.

The Jayhawks won the first Novice 8 (6:51.3), second Varsity 8 (7:01.1), Novice 4A (9:00.2) and Varsity 4 (7:46.2) races.

Next for KU is the Jayhawk Invitational on March 31. Kansas State, Indiana, Iowa, Massachusetts and Tulsa also will be at the two-day meet at the Kansas River.

Kansas bowlers second

at IBC sectional qualifier

North Kansas City, Mo. -- Kansas University's men's club bowling team was in second place Saturday after 32 games at the Intercollegiate Bowling Conference sectional qualifier at AMP Pro Bowl.

KU's Jesse James, Tom Partridge, Scott Light, Eric Topham, Mark D'Errico and Mike Keeler teamed for a 6,153 pin total. Nebraska leads at 6,252.

In the women's tournament, KU was in ninth with 5,000 pins. Kimber Jantz, Nicole Mosqueda, Tiffany McBurney, Barri Forkos and Kristina Boehm bowled for KU. Central Missouri State leads at 6,015.

The bowlers will roll 32 more games today. The top four teams advance to IBC championship in Grand Rapids, Mich., on April 13.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.