Archive for Saturday, March 10, 2001

Around and about

March 10, 2001


Quoc Truong, a medical student from Kansas University's School of Medicine-Wichita, is studying in Lawrence for four weeks. Trunong is participating in a rural internal medicine experience with Gerald Pees Jr., a clinical assistant professor of internal medicine.

Chris Lemmons, a 1999 Lawrence High graduate, has been named to the All-Kansas Academic Team for 2001.

He will graduate from Kansas City Kansas Community College in May with an associate of arts degree in general studies.

As a member of the All-Kansas team, Lemmons is eligible for selection to USA Today's All-Academic Team to be announced later.

Barton County Community College announces area students who made the president's list for the fall 2000 semester by earning a 4.0 grade point average. Those who made the list are Marck Dreenan, DeSoto; Jeffrey Vrbas, Lawrence; Jeffrey Norling, Ottawa; and Jeremy Simon, Valley Falls.

Kelly and Amy Crouse, Clovis, N.M., announce the birth of their daughter, Jennifer "Jenna" Marie Crouse, born Feb. 18, 2001, at Plains Regional Medical Center in Clovis, N.M.

Maternal grandparents are Richard and Sue Sachse, Easton. Paternal grandparents are Dan and Kitty Crouse, McLouth. Maternal great-grandparents are Ann Sachse, Easton, and Jean Sheppard, Buhler.

Teresa Cumpton and Clifton Marshall, Lawrence, announce the birth of their son, Tommy Lee Marshall, born Feb. 15, 2001, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center.

Gayle and Rick Acheson, Lecompton, announce the birth of their son, Alec Richard Acheson, born on Feb. 24, 2001, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center.

Tara and Major Edwards Jr., Lawrence, announce the birth of their daughter, Lillie-Ree Parisha Edwards, born Feb. 27, 2001, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center.

Grandparents are Michael and Fanny Vineyard, Douglas and Pamela Cardinal and Major and Mary Edwards Sr.

Charles W. "Chuck" Hoffman will celebrate his 90th birthday on March 14. His family will be having a dinner in his honor.

Friends and family are urged to send cards to 3205 W. 22nd St., Lawrence 66047.

Eduardo Acuna and Dragos-Anton Manolescu, both of Lawrence, graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Acuna will receive a master of arts degree and Manolescu will receive a doctorate in philosophy.

Laura Swan, Lawrence, has been named to the dean's list for the fall 2000 semester at Boston University.

Darcia DeVictor, Lawrence, has been accepted to Sorbonne University in Paris for the spring semester.

She is the daughter of Fred and Karen DeVictor, Lawrence. She is a junior at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, majoring in magazine journalism and French.

Thien Ling Chiou, Lawrence, received a bachelor's degree in December 2000 from Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, Mich.

Todd Trahan, a Free State High School student, has been named an Out-of-State Scholar by the University of South Carolina Spartanburg.

To qualify for the honor, Trahan earned at least a 3.0 grade point average and a minimum SAT score of 1000.

Trahan also has been named to Who's Who Among American High School Students, Who's Who in Sports all Stars and the principal's honor roll.

Trahan is the son of Lori Trahan.

The Lawrence Accredited Music Teachers Assn. will host two recitals at the Lawrence Arts Center on Thursday.

Students who will play in the 7 p.m. recital are Hsin-yi Pan, Dan Saunders, Flora Jiang, Calvert Pfannenstiel, Samantha Schueler, Eric Palmquist, Kaylie Price, Lucas Parker, Cafferty Parker, Kyle Gibson, Kelly Gibson, James Shain, David Long, Bryant Humphrey, Nicole Humphrey, Kelsey Schuyler, Olivia Marshall, Lauren Robertson, Sarah Zimmerman, Amy Brown, Brand Willis, Maddelyn Bailey, Eaton Saylor, Mariah Saylor, Dylan Brooks, Jenny Brooks and Bethany Saylor.

Students who will perform at 8 p.m. are Mark Laccheo, Amy Stahl, Jeff Miller, Rance Graham-Bailey, Colleen Boley, Dan Stahl, Willie Maderos-Treaster, Elspeth Cardin-Ritter, Naomi Alao-Etsehiywot, Yared Alao-Etsehiywot, Jimmy He, Helen Hawkins, Jennifer Heppert, Jeffrey Ahle, Justin Ahle, Sarah Schulte, Lauren Strom, Rachel Hammer, Adrienne Willems, Kristin Strom and Nathan Hammer.

These students represent the studios of Carol Cook, Melinda Pickering, Sue Evans, Elaine de San Miguel, Sue Kwak, Pat Burgstahler, Jean Drumm and Christi Lanier.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.