Archive for Saturday, March 3, 2001

Scouting news

March 3, 2001


About 100 scouts and 50 adults from eight troops in the Pelathe District attended the 2001 Klondike Derby Feb. 16-18 at Camp Naish.

The boys participated in the following events: Wake Big Sam, Loss Dutchman's Mine, Bear Escape, River Crossing, Grouse Shoot, Emergency Travois and Sled Challenge. First aid, fire building and orienteering were among the scouting skills demonstrated.

During a Saturday night campfire, several American flags were retired. A worship service was held Sunday.

Troops participating were: 52, 55, 56, 59, 61, 62, 64 and 65. The event was hosted by Troop 62, chartered to the Linwood Lion's Club, and Troop 55, chartered to the Westside Presbyterian Church in Lawrence.

Kirstin Wiechert Pace has been appointed as the new assistant program director for the Florida Sea Base, a high adventure program for older Boy Scouts and Venture Crews. She will be in charge of the Out Adventure Program and the Key Program.

Kirstin is the daughter of Allen and Sandra Wiechert, longtime Scout leaders in the Pelathe District.

Chapter 2 of Order of the Arrow will have a costuming lock-in March 9-10 at the Troop 55 Scout cabin located at 1024 Kasold Drive. They will be working on costuming and auditioning for the May Call Out.

Anyone interested should contact Mike Stancliffe or their unit OA representative.

Boy Scout Troop 53, chartered to the First Christian Church in Lawrence, held a Court of Honor on Feb. 12.

The following boys received rank advancement: Nick Chance, Alex Webster, Tenderfoot; Julian Spangler, Alex Webster, Second Class; Robert Larrabee, Brian Teefey, First Class; Scott Shreders, Brian Teefey, Star Scout; and Aaron Ideus, Eric Riner, Life Scout.

About 60 merit badges were awarded. The following scouts received one or more: Brian Bennett, Nick Chance, Ed DeLaTorre, Robert Figueira, Tony Gatti, Mason Graham, Mitchell Grant, Hick Hirschey, Aaron Ideus, Robert Larrabee, Jimmy Lottes, Scott Marks, Spencer Reeves, Daniel Rieder, Ben Robertson, Andrew Schmidt, Ray Segebrecht, Brian Segebrecht, Scott Shreders, Andrew Sigler, Eric Southard, Bryan Spangler, Julian Spangler, Chaz Steele, Jon Taylor, Brian Teefey, Keegan Terry, J.T. Thomspon, Grant VanBlaricum, Collin Watgen, Alex Webster and Brett Yulich.

Cub Scout Pack 3051, chartered to Pinckney School, had its annual Blue and Gold Banquet on Feb. 24 at First United Methodist Church, Lawrence.

Nearly 125 people attended the banquet. The highlight of the event was the awarding of the Arrow of Light and bridging boys of second-year Webelos into Scout troops.

The following scouts received their Order of Light: Timothy Barta, Isaiah Dover, James Easter, Kyle Gibson, Karel Hill, Mark Hoffman, Will Middleton, and Richard Walter. Those scouts along with Nicholas Joseph and Jeremy Warber also received other awards.

Timothy Barta, Isaiah Dover, Nicholas Joseph, Richard Walter, Karel Hill and Mark Hoffman received an award for earning all 20 Webelos Activity Badges.

The following scouts bridged into troops: Timothy Barta, Isaiah Dover, Nicholas Joseph and Ricky Walter, Troop 52, chartered to the First United Methodist Church of Lawrence; James Easter, Will Middleton, Troop 55, chartered to Westside Presbyterian Church in Lawrence; and Karel Hill, Troop 59, chartered to the First Presbyterian Church.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.