Archive for Thursday, July 12, 2001

Big 12 honors Heupel, Cepero

July 12, 2001


— Oklahoma quarterback Josh Heupel and Nebraska two-sport standout Greichaly Cepero have been named the Big 12's athletes of the year. The male and female honorees, announced Wednesday, were picked by administrators from each conference school and media.

Athletics directors nominated one male and one female for their schools. Selections were based upon 2000-01 athletic and academic achievement with citizenship as a tiebreaker. Kansas University nominees were basketball player Nick Collison and javelin thrower Andrea Bulat.

Heupel led OU to a 13-0 record and its first national title since 1985. He was the Big 12 offensive player of the year and the conference's football student-athlete of the year.

Cepero was the league's volleyball player of the year while leading the Cornhuskers to a 34-0 record and the national championship. She averaged 6.1 points and 5.3 rebounds per game in basketball.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.