Archive for Thursday, January 18, 2001

Quiz tests knowledge of inauguration history

January 18, 2001


1. Who was the first president inaugurated in Washington, D.C.?

2. Who was the first president inaugurated for a term limited by the Constitution?

3. Who was the youngest president-elect at the time of his inauguration?

4. When was the first inauguration under the 20th amendment to the Constitution, which changed the event's date from March 4 to Jan. 20?

5. Who was the first president to wear a beard at his inaugural?

6. How was snow removed from Pennsylvania Avenue for President John F. Kennedy's inaugural parade?

7. Who was the only president elected unanimously in the Electoral College?

8. When was the first inaugural ball held?

9. Where in the Constitution is the oath of office found?

10. Who was the first president born an American citizen?

11. When did the first inauguration take place on the West Front of the Capitol?

12. What president was sworn in secretly two days before the official inaugural ceremony?

13. Which inauguration was the first to be televised?

14. Who was the first inaugurated president to be born outside the original 13 states?

15. Who was the first vice president to succeed to the presidency, taking office on April 6, 1841?


1. Thomas Jefferson in 1801.

2. Dwight D. Eisenhower in 1952. The 22nd amendment to the Constitution limits a president to two terms.

3. John F. Kennedy at 43 years, 236 days. Theodore Roosevelt was 42 years, 322 days old when he was sworn in following the assassination of President William McKinley.

4. 1937, the second inauguration of President Franklin D. Roosevelt.

5. Abraham Lincoln in 1861.

6. Army flame throwers.

7. George Washington drew no opposition in the Electoral College in both 1789 and 1793, receiving 69 votes each time.

8. In 1809, after the inauguration of James Madison.

9. Article II, section I.

10. Inaugurated in 1837, Martin Van Buren was born on Dec. 5, 1782, in New York. All previous presidents were born as British subjects.

11. In 1981, at the inauguration of President Ronald Reagan. A total 35 inaugurations were held on the East Front of the Capitol, from Andrew Jackson's in 1829 to Jimmy Carter's in 1977.

12. Rutherford B. Hayes in 1877. Hayes won the Electoral college by just one vote while losing the popular vote to Democrat Samuel Tilden. He was sworn in in the Red Room of the White House on March 3, just before a private dinner given by President Ulysses S. Grant. The official ceremonies were held on March 5, a Monday.

13. The inauguration of Harry S. Truman and Vice President Alben W. Barkley in 1949.

14. Abraham Lincoln of Illinois.

15. John Tyler, after the death of William Henry Harrison.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.