Archive for Wednesday, January 17, 2001

International Press likes ‘Sex’ and ‘West Wing’

January 17, 2001


"Sex and the City" and "The West Wing" picked up top honors Sunday night at the International Press Academy's fifth annual Golden Satellite Awards.

The entertainment critics from 450 broadcast, print and Internet outlets from more than 100 countries picked "West Wing" for both Best Television Series Drama and Best Ensemble on TV, while Allison Janney picked up Best Actress in a TV Series, Drama.

"Sex and the City" won Best TV Comedy or Musical and Lisa Kudrow (fresh from her win at the People's Choice Awards), won Best Actress in a Comedy for her role in "Friends" and Frankie Muniz from "Malcolm in the Middle" won the Best Actor in a Comedy.

Tim Daly from "The Fugitive" took the Best Actor in a Drama award and was one of the few award recipients in attendance. He thanked his wife and family for putting up with him and said, "I guess I should thank (TV studio exec) Les Moonves for keeping us on the air, and I hope that I will someday work in every country that's represented in this room tonight."

Jill Hennessy accepted an award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for TV for her role in "Nuremberg" on TNT.

The Best Miniseries went to "American Tragedy: The OJ Trial" and Best Motion Picture Made for TV went to Showtime's "Harlan County War."

Best Actor in a Miniseries or Made for TV Movie went to James Woods for "Dirty Pictures."

Other TV stars in attendance at the awards included nominees such as Stacy Keach from "Titus," Dennis Haysbert from "Now and Again," Jenna Elfman from "Dharma and Greg" and Josh Ryan Evans who is Oren Koolie in "Ally McBeal." Linda Gray from "Dallas" co-hosted the show, and Sofia and Roman Coppola accepted an Outstanding Artistic Contribution honor for their father Francis Ford Coppola.

In years past, Edward Norton, Martin Sheen, Camryn Manheim, Shirley MacLaine and other stars have attended the show and expressed disappointment that more of the award nominees didn't attend as well.

This year's host, Marty Ingels said, "... A lot of the names you will see at the Oscars and Emmys this year will first be honored right here in this room."

Commenting has been disabled for this item.