Archive for Wednesday, February 28, 2001

Baldwin pushes out mayor

February 28, 2001


Several new and young faces dominated primary election races Tuesday in Baldwin, where voters turned out the incumbent mayor.

Political newcomer Ken Hayes was the top vote-getter for mayor. The unofficial tally showed he bested incumbent Mayor Stan Krysztof, owner of K & K Grinding, by 138 votes. Krysztof was elected in 1997.

Hayes, 34, a co-owner of Cornerstone Construction, Lawrence, will now square off against Slade Dillon, 29, a Baldwin State Bank employee, in the April 3 general election.

"I think the results showed the voters' dissatisfaction of the way incumbents have dealt with issues in Baldwin," Hayes said.

Even before he ran for office, Hayes was circulating a petition against a proposed business park and recreation area on 160 acres southwest of town. During his campaign, he said he talked with many residents who also opposed the park.

"I think that played a large role in (winning), and it will be one of the first issues I address if elected mayor," he said.

Newcomers also topped the list for the two four-year city council seats. The primary narrowed the field from six candidates to four. H. Kenneth Wagner, George McCrary, Carol Taul and incumbent Lee Whaley advanced to the general election.

McCrary said the election showed Baldwin residents are ready for a change.

"I think it's pretty obvious that people are disgruntled with the way things have happened in the city in the past," he said.

In the race for the two-year unexpired commission seat, voters will choose between incumbent Gene Nelson and Todd Cohen in April. Nelson was appointed last year when council member Jerry Roberts moved to Iowa.

For the school board race in Baldwin, Blaine Cone and Charles "Chip" Hornberger Jr. will stand against each other.

In Eudora, six of seven candidates, including incumbents Carlie Abel, Marion Johnson and Bob Rice, will advance to the general election, which will decide the winners of three open seats. Others advancing are Tracy Bowling, Brenda Clark, and James Harris. Eliminated was Richard Palmer.

In DeSoto, incumbent Tim Maniez and candidates Max Atwell, Jim Cannon and Emil Urbanek will square off in April for two open city council seats. Charles "Duke" Neeland and David Anderson will vie for mayor.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.