Archive for Saturday, February 10, 2001

Scouting News

February 10, 2001


Boy Scout Troop 59 had a chili feed Jan. 20 at its charter organization, First Presbyterian Church in Lawrence.

Bob and Nancy Kocour were the chili feed coordinators, and the troop earned 50 percent more than last year's fund-raiser.

Cub Scout Pack 3051, chartered to Pinckney School, had its annual Pinewood Derby on Jan. 20 at Woodlawn School. Thirty-two boys entered cars and five adults raced in an open race.

The following boys placed in their den races:

Tigers Calvin Abbot, first; Sebastian Simmons, second; and Trevor Norris, third.

Wolverines Richard Walter, first; Timothy Barta, second; and Nickolas Joseph, third.

Whipporwills Ian O'Connor, first; Keagan Taylor, second; and Casey Wagner, third.

Panther Taylor Copp, first; Joseph Vannicola, second; and John McLean, third.

Den 4 Tyler Gibson, first; Ryan Dozier, second; and Ammon Austin, third.

Den 5 Reece Massey, first; Justin Stearns, second; and Willie Gibson, third.

Cobras Will Middleton, first, and Karel Hill, second.

Open class adult winners were: Lisa Dibenedetto, Mike Taylor and Harold Aiken.

Tyler Gibson placed first in the pack-wide race, followed by Richard Walter, Timothy Barta and Ryan Dozier. Chance McKinney won an award for most realistic car design. Taylor Copp earned honors for the most unique design. Richard Walter received an award for best craftsmanship, and Keagan Taylor earned an honor for best lead wedge. Austin Holladay won an award for best use of color.

Cub Scout Pack 3057, sponsored by St. Johns School of Lawrence, had its Pinewood Derby Jan. 20.

The following boys participated: Jimmy Kittle, Austin Barone, Austin Neidow, Adam Ramos, Jonathon Fitzgerald, Lucas Vogelsand, Patrick Shields, Brady Murrish, Jacob Pfiefer, Sam Dillon, Chijike Dikeogu, Patrick Fay, Kirby Evers, Eric Long, Carrick Finnegan, Robert Flaig, Jonathon Clark, Zach Hill, Jacob Weber, Dom Reiske, Henry Hodges, Ethan Vogelsang, Seth Stephanz, Michael Smith, Andrew Sidor, Thomas Sidor, Gus Wigen-Toccalino, Sean Ridenour, Josh Hill, David Long, Shawn Clark, Stephen May, Cameron Scruggs and Brandon Mailand.

The winners were Austin Barone, Tiger Cubs; Carrick Finnegan, Wolf Cubs; Henry Hodges, Bear Cubs; Thomas Sidor, first-year Webelos; and Cameron Scruggs, second-year Webelos. The overall pack champion was Henry Hodges.

Cub Scout Pack 3051 had its meeting and Pinewood Derby Time Trials Jan. 19 at Woodlawn School.

Taylor Copp and Reece Massey earned their Bobcat badges.

The following boys earned one or more awards: Timothy Barta, Isaiah Dover, Nick Joseph, Rick Walter, Brandon Eller, Joe Riordan, Keagan Taylor, Casey Wagner, Derek Clark, Kelly Jones, John McLean, Joseph Vannicola, Brandon Woodard, Calvin Abbot, Nick Allen, Brian Loux, Trevor Norris, Mike Robinson and Sebastian Simmons.

The next pack meeting will be the Blue and Gold banquet at 4 p.m. Feb. 24 at First United Methodist Church.

Boy Scout Troop 59 will have a Valentine's Day reception for family members at 8:30 p.m. in the First Presbyterian Church. The scouts will provide a variety punch and the Desetti family will provide a special punch.

The reception will honor the parents and family members who make scouting possible.

Boy Scout Troop 61, chartered to St. Luke's AME Church, attended services Feb. 4 for Scout Sunday.

Scouts who attended were: Josh Bailey, senior patrol leader, Josh Freeman, Jason Russell, Josh Alhert, David McGee, Andrew Jones and Jacob Schultz. Adults who attended were: JP McCoy, troop chair; Jerry Schultz, assistant scoutmaster; Randy Russell, immediate past scoutmaster; and Clara Holladay, troop commissioner.

Boy Scout Troop 59, chartered to the First Presbyterian Church in Lawrence, had its annual ski trip Feb. 4 to Snow Creek in Weston, Mo.

More than 30 scouts and family members attended. The following scouts completed their snow sports merit badge: Eddie Reed, Kevin Workman, Philip Anderson, Nolan Kappleman, Colin Kappleman, Will Armstrong, Nathan Desetti, Alex Anderson, Justin Esau, Kendall Scarffe, Sam Gleeson, Jeff Standing, David Stogsdill and Sam Sutheimer.

Herb Tuttle, of Troop 52, helped with counseling and instructing for the merit badge.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.