Archive for Friday, December 28, 2001

Area briefs

December 28, 2001


More than 60 apply to be Ottawa's new city manager

More than 60 people have applied to become the next Ottawa city manager.

Mayor Gene Ramsey said the response rate has been favorable and at last count at least 40 of the applications were from out of state. The city advertised nationally in government trade publications and on the Internet.

"I think it's very good. We were hoping we would get at least 50," he said.

Applications or rsums are due by 5 p.m. today at City Hall, 101 S. Hickory St.

Ramsey said the city commission will meet in executive session from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Wednesday at City Hall to conduct the first review of the applications. He said City Attorney Bob Bezek and City Clerk Scott Bird, who have been acting as co-interim city managers, also will attend the meeting. The commission's regular meeting will start at 7 p.m.

Ramsey said the Kansas League of Municipalities will recommend the top 10 candidates and submit a list of the second 10. Next, he said, the city will narrow the list down to about five candidates and start the interview process.

Ottawa's former city manager, Scott Lambers, left in September to become the city administrator in Leawood.

Teacher gets Legacy Award

The Lawrence teachers' union and a credit union honored a West Junior High School teacher with a Legacy Award.

Carolyn Derusseau, who has worked in Lawrence public schools since 1973, was honored by Lawrence Education Assn. and Educom Credit Union for making a significant impact on the lives of her students.

Colleagues say the social studies teacher brings "real world" activities into her classroom, giving students a sense of community and their responsibilities within it. Her appreciation for Kansas history brings the subject to life for junior high students.

Derusseau also has worked to develop a student council that is a model for student government in action.

Other winners of the award this school year: Dick Wedel, Lawrence Alternative High School; Debby Crady, Schwegler School; David Tenpenny, Lawrence High School; and Marcia McPhail, South Junior High School.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.