Archive for Saturday, April 21, 2001

Print media honors their own

April 21, 2001


A reporter, five editors and a newspaper were recognized for contributions to the Kansas newspaper industry Friday during the Kansas Press Assn.'s annual convention.

The Parsons Sun staff received the Victor Murdock Award, which recognizes outstanding journalistic standards and was established to honor the longtime Wichita Eagle editor.

Dave Bergmeier, editor and publisher of the Abilene Reflector-Chronicle, was presented the Boyd Community Service Award. The award was created in memory of Frank and Mamie Boyd, former publishers of the Phillips County Review.

Emerson Lynn Jr., editor and publisher of the Iola Register, received the Gaston Outstanding Mentor Award. The award is named for Karl and Dorothy Gaston, known for their service to the Kansas newspaper industry.

Dolph C. Simons Jr., editor and publisher of the Lawrence Journal-World, received the Clyde M. Reed Jr. Master Editor Award. The award is named for the longtime publisher of the Parsons Sun and honors outstanding bodies of work by members of the Kansas newspaper community and recognizes years of achievement.

Tim Unruh of the Salina Journal received the Kansas Farm Bureau's Golden Wheat Award for excellence in agricultural writing.

Kansas Gas Service recognized Jon Brake of the Manhattan Free Press as the weekly winner and John Sayler of the Lyons Daily News as the daily winner of its first Award for Excellence in Editorial Writing.

The KPA convention continues through today at the Lawrence Holidome, 200 McDonald Drive.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.