Archive for Saturday, September 23, 2000

Club news

September 23, 2000


At the September meeting of the Douglas County FCE Council, Mariann Bradley and Genny Hunsinger were recognized for receiving "Friends of the Fair" awards.

Margaret Fuston was elected for Heart of FCE of Douglas County. Genny Hunsinger was elected for the FCE Family of Douglas County.

Grandchildren, children and young friends are welcome to attend the rescheduled "Family Fun" program at 7 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 12, in Building 2 at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds.

The FCE Fall Festival will be held Friday, Nov. 10, in Building 21 at the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds.

A potluck luncheon will be at noon, followed at 1 p.m. by a program called "First Lady of the Air" by Ann E. Birney.

FCE officers elected for 2001 are Margaret Fuston, president; Myrna Hartford, vice president; Alice Eisele, treasurer, and Muriel Maness, secretary.

Kanwaka FCE made 400 "ouch dolls" for the Health Department. Children are given one of these dolls to hold when they are being given shots.

A bridge competition was held Sept. 14 at the Jewish Community Center. The first place winners each won gold master points.

The competition was divided into two sections. The Mitchell movement was used and the game was jointly directed by Virginia Seaver and Eldon Herd.

In Section A, North-South gold point winners were Yvonne Hedges and Sally Taylor. East-West gold point winners were Shirley Reese and Betty Collier.

In Section B, North-South gold point winners were Jerry Sloan and Patt Radford. East- West gold point winners were Julia Brooks and Mildred Linley.

Other North-South winners in Section A were Mike and Rhonda Montgomery followed by Romaine Clark and Adelaide Hanna. Jan Brown and Marlene Hendrick placed fourth.

Other East-West winners in Section A were Dixie Nicholson and Virginia Overley, followed by Madelyn Jenks and Phyllis Brownlee, and Lynne Holt and Dave Johnson.

Other North-South winners in Section B were Kent McCullough and Clyde Romer followed by Terry Tolar and Lou Ann Lee. Mary Phillips and Carol Ball placed fourth.

Other East-West winners in Section B were Dave Leitch and Steve Vossler followed by Martine Paludan and Gary Joyce. Mary Treece and Nita Scales placed fourth.

The Lawrence Duplicate Bridge Club's game on Sept. 18 had 10 and one-half tables of players. The game was stratified, used the Mitchell Rover movement and was directed by Virginia Seaver.

The North-South winners were led by James Gunn and Harry Shaffer followed by Julia Brooks and Mildred Linley. Julia and Lester Dalton placed third. Lynne Holt and Dave Johnson tied for fourth place with Martie Hartman and Pat Burgstahler.

THe East-West winners were led by Dan and Vera Schultz followed by Steve Goodman and Elizabeth Nice. Donna Johnson and Bill Schutzel placed third followed by Bebe Huxtable and Wanda Edmonds. Other winners in the B session included Russell LaForce and Mike Montgomery.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.