Archive for Thursday, October 19, 2000

This week at a glance

October 19, 2000




Pop Secret Microwave 400

Site: Rockingham, N.C.

Schedule: Friday, first-round qualifying, 1 p.m.; Saturday, second-round qualifying, 8:30 a.m.; Sunday, race (TNN, 11:30 a.m.)

Track: North Carolina Speedway (tri-oval, 1.017 miles, 22 degrees banking in turns 1-2, 25 degrees in turns 3-4).

Race distance: 399.681 miles, 393 laps.

Last year: Jeff Burton, who took the lead by barely beating older brother Ward out of the pits on their final stop, led the last 68 laps to win.

Last race: Dale Earnhardt raced from 18th to first in four laps, then held off Kenny Wallace and Joe Nemechek to win the Winston 500 in Talladega, Ala. Earnhardt beat Wallace by about two car-lengths, earning his record 10th Talladega victory.

Fast Facts: The race has been won from the pole five times, most recently by Kyle Petty in 1992. ... Mark Martin and Petty lead with five poles. ... Junior Johnson leads owners with 14 victories at The Rock. ... Matt Kenseth leads Dale Earnhardt Jr. by 27 points in the rookie standings.

Next race: Checker Auto Parts/Dura Lube 500k, Nov. 5, Avondale, Ariz.


Rockingham 200

Site: Rockingham, N.C.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying, 11:30 a.m.; Saturday, race (TNN, 2 p.m.)

Track: North Carolina Speedway (tri-oval, 1.017 miles, 22 degrees banking in turns 1-2, 25 degrees in turns 3-4).

Race distance: 200.349 miles, 197 laps.

Last year: Mark Martin continued his dominance of Busch Series races at North Carolina Speedway, holding off Jeff Green in the final laps for his 10th win on the track.

Last race: Matt Kenseth won the All Pro Bumper to Bumper 300 in Concord, N.C. NASCAR confiscated his engine because of a possible rules violation. Officials later upheld the victory after finding nothing illegal.

Fast Facts: The race has been won from the pole four times, but not since Ernie Irvan in 1991. ... Martin has won the fall race six times. ... The fall race has been won from the pole 11 times. ... If leader Jeff Green gains 29 points more than Jason Keller, he will win the championship.

Next race: Sam's Town 250, Oct. 29, Millington, Tenn.


Last race: Bryan Reffner won the O'Reilly 400 in Fort Worth, Texas, passing Andy Houston with six laps to go for his first victory in 112 career starts. Greg Biffle claimed the points title, even though he completed just 81 of the 167 laps and finished 25th. The event was marred by the death of Tony Roper, who crashed during the race.

Next race: California 200, Oct. 28, Fontana.

Formula One

Malaysian Grand Prix

Site: Kuala Lumpur.

Schedule: Saturday, qualifying (Speedvision, midnight); Sunday, race (Speedvision, 12:30 a.m.)

Track: Sepang International Circuit (permanent road course, 3.443 miles, 15 turns).

Race distance: 189.365 miles, 55 laps.

Last year: Mika Hakkinen initially was declared the winner of the inaugural event after Ferrari teammates Eddie Irvine and Michael Schumacher, who crossed the finish line first and second, were disqualified for technical violations. Formula One authorities said the bodywork of the Ferraris violated rules on aerodynamics and speed. But an appeal by Ferrari was upheld, returning the victory to Irvine.

Last race: Schumacher made a late move to win the Japanese Grand Prix in Suzuka, and took the Formula One title for the third time.

Fast Facts: This is the final event of the season. ... The race was the penultimate event of the season last year. ... Schumacher won his first title since 1995 and the first for Ferrari in 21 years. He won titles with the Benetton team in 1994 and 1995.


O'Reilly Fall Nationals

Site: Ennis, Texas.

Schedule: Friday, first-round qualifying, 1:30 p.m.; Saturday, second-round qualifying, 11 p.m.; Sunday, final eliminations, 11 p.m.

Track: Texas Motorplex.

Last year: John Force and Warren Johnson won championships in their categories, en route to event titles.

Last event: Jeg Coughlin won his first NHRA Pro Stock championship, his 10th victory of the season, at the AutoZone Nationals in Millington, Tenn. Gary Scelzi, Ron Capps and Mike Coughlin won their categories.

Fast Facts: There are two events remaining after this week. ... Scelzi leads Tony Schumacher 1,663-1,537 in the Top Fuel standings. ... John Force has a 90-point lead on Capps in the Funny Car division. ... The track opened in 1986.

Next race: Matco Tools Super-nationals, Oct. 29, Baytown, Texas.


Last race: Adrian Fernandez prevailed in the crash-filled Honda Indy 300 in Surfers Paradise, Australia, beating Kenny Brack by 0.324 seconds.

Next race: Marlboro 500, Oct. 29, Fontana, Calif.

Indy Racing League

Last race: Scott Goodyear won the fastest race in IRL history and Buddy Lazier took the season championship by finishing fourth in the Excite 500 in Fort Worth, Texas. Lazier needed to finish 14th or better to win the title and $1 million but did much more. He led 38 consecutive laps near the end and was running with the front pack for all 208 trips around the 11/2-mile oval.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.