Archive for Thursday, October 19, 2000

KU women tapped fifth in Big 12

October 19, 2000


— Iowa State has been picked to win the Big 12 women's basketball championship in a preseason poll of the league's head coaches.

The top three picks were decided by a narrow margin. ISU garnered five first-place votes and had a total of 113 points. Oklahoma was second with 109 points and received three first-place votes. Texas Tech was third spot 104 points and received four first-place votes.

Texas and Kansas rounded out the top five with the Longhorns picked to finish fourth and the Jayhawks fifth. Colorado was sixth, followed by Nebraska, Missouri, Kansas State, Baylor, Oklahoma State and Texas A&M.;

Iowa State's Angie Welle was chosen the preseason player of the year. The 6-foot-4 junior center is the league's returning leading scorer and rebounder after averaging 15.4 points a game and 8.6 rebounds last season.

Joining Welle on the preseason All-Big 12 team are teammate Megan Taylor, Oklahoma's Stacey Dales, Texas Tech's Plenette Pierson and Missouri's Amanda Lassiter.

Kansas' Jaclyn Johnson was among several others receiving votes.

Baylor's Sheila Lambert was named preseason newcomer of the year. The 5-7 junior guard transferred to Baylor from Grayson (Texas) Community College where she averaged 23.2 ppg as a sophomore.

Kansas State's Laurie Koehn was tapped preseason Big 12 freshman of the year. The 5-8 guard averaged 37 points per game as a senior at Moundridge High.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.