Archive for Wednesday, November 8, 2000

Maddux wins 11th Gold Glove; Griffey streak snapped

November 8, 2000


Greg Maddux not only can throw the ball, he can pick it up, too.

The Atlanta Braves' right-hander won his 11th consecutive Gold Glove on Tuesday, extending his record for National League pitchers. Only Jim Kaat, with 16, has won more.

Ken Griffey Jr. failed to win in his first season with Cincinnati after winning 10 in a row with the Seattle Mariners.

San Francisco Giants first baseman J.T. Snow won his sixth straight award, and Braves outfielder Andruw Jones won for the third time in a row.

Cincinnati second baseman Pokey Reese won for the second straight year and Philadelphia third baseman Scott Rolen won his second overall, taking over from Robin Ventura.

Colorado's Neifi Perez was selected for the first time at shortstop, replacing the Mets' Rey Ordonez, who had won three straight but missed most of the season because of a broken arm.

Mike Matheny of the St. Louis Cardinals won at catcher, replacing Philadelphia's Mike Lieberthal.

Jim Edmonds of the Cardinals and Steve Finley of the Arizona Diamondbacks joined Jones as outfield winners. It was Edmonds' first NL Gold Glove following three in the AL with the Angels.

Finley won for the second straight year and fourth time overall.

AL winners were pitcher Kenny Rogers (Texas), catcher Ivan Rodriguez (Texas), first baseman John Olerud (Seattle), second baseman Roberto Alomar (Cleveland), shortstop Omar Vizquel (Cleveland), third baseman Travis Fryman (Cleveland) and outfielders Darin Erstad (Anaheim), Jermaine Dye (Kansas City) and Bernie Williams (New York).

Commenting has been disabled for this item.