Archive for Wednesday, November 8, 2000

Franklin County voters opt for experience

November 8, 2000


— Voters in Franklin County chose candidates with the most experience in races for county clerk and sheriff.

Republican incumbent Shari Perry won the race for county clerk against Democratic challenger Becky Dixon, 6,416 to 3,079. Perry has worked for Franklin County for 17 years, the last four as county clerk.

3rd District:x Fred Ferguson (D) 1,014Roger Keith (R) 9084th District:Vernon Moyer (I) 422x Raymond Carey (R) 1,0655th District:Chet Leach (D) 642x Don Stottlemire (R) 1,205Norman Wooge (Ref) 413

"I just want to thank the voters. They're the ones who made it possible," Perry said.

In the race for Franklin County sheriff, Republican Craig Davis, an employee for the Sheriff's Department for 24 years and undersheriff for the last three years, defeated Democrat John "Butch" Riddle, 7,413 to 2,097.

In other races, voters elected three new members to the Franklin County Commission. In the 2nd District, Republican John Taylor ran unopposed. He received 1,779 votes. He will replace outgoing commission chairman Tom Weigand, who chose not to run.

In the 3rd District, Democrat Fred Ferguson ran against Republican Roger Keith. Ferguson won, 1,014 to 908.

Sheriff: x Craig A. Davis (R) 7,413Butch Riddle (D) 2,097County clerk:Becky Dixon (D) 3,079x Shari Perry (R) 6,416

In the 4th District, Republican incumbent Raymond Carey defeated independent Vernon Moyer, 1,065 to 422.

In the 5th District, Republican Donald Stottlemire out-polled Democrat Chet Leach and Reform Party candidate Norman Wooge. Stottlemire received 1,205 votes; Leach, 642; and Wooge, 413.

One certainty for the next commission was Republican Don Waymire, who was appointed to the 1st District in 1998.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.