Archive for Tuesday, November 7, 2000

Tiahrt, Moran, Ryun retain seats

November 7, 2000


— Kansas' congressional Republican incumbents held the state's three other U.S. House seats, and all were expected to win.

In the 4th District, incumbent Todd Tiahrt initially trailed his Democratic opponent, Carlos Nolla, a Wichita attorney and former member of the Kansas Governmental Ethics Commission.

However, Tiahrt took the lead as later returns came in. With 35 percent of the vote counted, Tiahrt had 52 percent of the vote to Nolla's 44 percent. Libertarian activist Steven Rosile had 4 percent.

Reps. Jerry Moran and Jim Ryun won their races in the 1st and 2nd districts, as expected.

Moran, from Hays, faced only a Libertarian candidate, Jack Warner, of Dodge City. Ryun faced Democrat Stanley Wiles, an Ottawa attorney, and Libertarian Dennis Hawver, an Ozawkie attorney.

The state had an all-Republican congressional delegation for four years following the GOP's takeover of the House in 1994.

Tiahrt is the senior member of the state's House delegation. He won his seat in 1994 by defeating 18-year Democratic incumbent Dan Glickman, now the U.S. agriculture secretary.

Ryun and Moran both were first elected in 1996.

The state had no Senate race this year. U.S. Sen. Pat Roberts, a Republican, faces re-election in 2002 and plans to run again.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.