Archive for Friday, July 21, 2000

Hospital honors workers

July 21, 2000


Two individuals, a team and an entire department were the recipients of special-recognition awards at Lawrence Memorial Hospital.

Called the Vision Awards, they replace the hospital's Employee of the Year Award, said Ann Roggero, vice president of the Human Resources office.

"This enables us to recognize more than one person," Roggero said.

The new awards won't necessarily be a once-a-year event, Roggero said. Instead the awards will be given as nominations are received and as a committee of managers and staff members can evaluate them, she said.

Nominations can be made by anyone at the hospital.

The recipients receive either $500 or a $1,000 savings bond. Members of a group or department receiving the award will decide what to do with the money.

The awards are given out during a reception Wednesday in the hospital's atrium.

The recipients of the first Vision Awards:

  • The Activities Team, which plans and conducts LMH's community functions. Its members: Becky Wilson, Linda Faler, Denise Orth, Debbie Miers, Suzy Makalous, Dae Curtiss and Marsha Harrell.
  • John Drees, a registered nurse in the emergency department and a community education specialist. Drees conducts programs at schools and with community groups.
  • Barb King, clinical coordinator of outpatient services and who oversees LMH South. She's credited with making LMH a model of sedation issues in patient care.
  • Pharmacy department. Clinical pharmacists meet with patients, physicians and health care providers.
  • Jeff Pierce, clinical coordinator of pharmacy. He's credited with developing a database program for pharmacists to record their clinical activities.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.