Archive for Friday, July 21, 2000

Byland survives playoff to capture crown

July 21, 2000


— Katie Byland beat Kristy Straub in a one-hole playoff Thursday to win the 2000 Kansas Women's Golf Association State Amateur Championship at Bellevue Golf and Country Club.

Straub, of Great Bend, started the day tied for fifth, eight strokes behind Byland.

"Being eight back, I really thought I was in good position to finish second," she said. "It's still disappointing to lose."

Byland, of Leawood, shot an 81 Thursday, but still had a chance to win in regulation before missing a birdie putt on the 18th hole and finishing at 228.

"I did everything I could today to give this away," she said.

Straub, who will be a sophomore on the University of Kansas golf team, shot the best round of the day with a 73 to force the playoff with Byland.

In the playoff, Byland bogied the par-4, 320-yard No. 1 hole to beat Straub by one stroke.

Last year Byland lost to Jane Yi of Topeka by one stroke after missing a birdie attempt on the last hole. Yi finished third this year at 230.

Top two seeds eliminated in second round of match play
Third-seeded Marty Sallaz was the highest seed to advance Thursday at the Kansas Amateur Match Play Championship at Topeka Country Club.

Len Johnsen Jr. and Travis Hurst, the top two seeds, were ousted in the second round of match play.

Defending state champion Sean Thayer, Garden City, who came in at No. 21, advanced to Friday's third round.

Nick Underwood, a sophomore on the Wichita State golf team, knocked off Johnsen, who won the tournament in 1994 and 1997, 3 and 1.

Underwood made a 15-foot birdie putt to pull even with Johnsen on the ninth. Underwood moved ahead with a par on No. 12 and two up with a 10-foot birdie putt on No. 14. He finished off Johnsen with a birdie on No. 17.

Hurst, runner-up to Thayer last year, fell to Kansas golfer Casey Harbour 3 and 2 as Harbour made four birdies.

Thayer beat Kevin Ward 5 and 3 in the opening round and Bob Vidricksen 4 and 3 in the second round.

Lawrence golfers still alive are Michael Rack, Jason deBuhr, Chris Marshall and Andy Stewart.

Rack and deBuhr are scheduled to play in a 7:40 a.m. third-round match today. Marshall, seeded 18th after stroke play, will meet Harbour at 8:10 a.m. today. Stewart, the No. 7 seed, will play Ty Cline at 8:20 a.m. today.

The quarterfinals will be this afternoon. Semifinals are 7:30 a.m. Saturday. The championship match is 7:30 a.m. Sunday.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.