Archive for Saturday, December 30, 2000

TV Guide announces annual award nominees

December 30, 2000


— TV Guide is adding nine categories to its third annual "TV Guide Awards."

The awards show will take place Feb. 24 at the Shrine Expo Center in Los Angeles and will air March 7 on Fox. Readers will vote on ballots published in the Jan. 6 and 13 issues of the magazine and made available online at and through AOL.

Major categories:

Comedy series of the year: "Ally McBeal," "Dharma & Greg," "The Drew Carey Show," "Everybody Loves Raymond," "Frasier," "Friends," "The King of Queens," "Malcolm in the Middle," "Sex and the City," "The Simpsons," "That '70s Show," "Will & Grace."

Drama series of the year: "Any Day Now," "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "ER," "Judging Amy," "Law & Order," "NYPD Blue," "Once and Again," "The Practice," "The Sopranos," "The West Wing," "The X-Files," "7th Heaven."

New series of the year: "Bette," "Boston Public," "Bull," "C.S.I.," "Dark Angel," "The District," "Ed," "The Fugitive," "Gideon's Crossing," "Gilmore Girls," "Queer as Folk," "Soul Food."

Actor of the year in a comedy series: Drew Carey ("The Drew Carey Show"), Jamie Foxx ("The Jamie Foxx Show"), Kelsey Grammer ("Frasier"), Kevin James ("The King of Queens"), Matt LeBlanc ("Friends"), Eric McCormack ("Will & Grace"), Frankie Muniz ("Malcolm in the Middle"), Matthew Perry ("Friends"), David Hyde Pierce ("Frasier"), Ray Romano ("Everybody Loves Raymond"), David Schwimmer ("Friends"), Christopher Titus ("Titus").

Actress of the year in a comedy series: Jennifer Aniston ("Friends"), Courtney Cox Arquette ("Friends"), Jenna Elfman ("Dharma & Greg"), Calista Flockhart ("Ally McBeal"), Patricia Heaton ("Everybody Loves Raymond"), Jane Kaczmarek ("Malcolm in the Middle"), Lisa Kudrow ("Friends"), Heather Locklear ("Spin City"), Debra Messing ("Will & Grace") Bette Midler ("Bette"), Sarah Jessica Parker ("Sex and the City"), Leah Remini ("The King of Queens").

Actor of the year in a drama series: David Boreanaz ("Angel"), Andre Braugher ("Gideon's Crossing"), Billy Campbell ("Once and Again"), Anthony Edwards ("ER"), David James Elliott ("JAG"), Dennis Franz ("NYPD Blue"), James Gandolfini ("The Sopranos"), Joshua Jackson ("Dawson's Creek"), Eriq LaSalle ("ER"), Dylan McDermott ("The Practice"), Martin Sheen ("The West Wing"), Sam Waterston ("Law & Order").

Actress of the year in a drama series: Gillian Anderson ("The X-Files"), Amy Brenneman ("Judging Amy"), Edie Falco ("The Sopranos"), Sarah Michelle Gellar ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer"), Mariska Hargitay ("Law & Order: Special Victims Unit"), Katie Holmes ("Dawson's Creek"), Laura Innes ("ER"), Allison Janney ("The West Wing"), Melina Kanakaredes ("Providence"), Keri Russell ("Felicity"), Lorraine Toussaint ("Any Day Now"), Sela Ward ("Once and Again").

Commenting has been disabled for this item.