Archive for Thursday, August 10, 2000

KU committee to find director

August 10, 2000


An 18-member committee has been appointed to find the next Lied Center director.

Fine Arts Dean Toni-Marie Montgomery announced the search committee's membership Wednesday.

Montgomery said the committee will seek a person who has experience in presenting art performances, active membership in national organizations and is aware of the unique nature of the Lied Center's location in an academic setting.

"We want someone who will jump in and continue the traditions of the Lied Center and forge new paths that add to the distinctiveness of the center," Montgomery said.

The committee members:

Judy Billings, Lawrence Convention & Visitors Bureau director.

Maurice Bryan Jr., KU Equal Opportunity Office director.

Mary Burg, executive assistant to KU Chancellor Robert Hemenway.

Janet Crow, Hall Center for the Humanities executive director.

George Duerksen, KU music and dance department interim chairman.

Janet Hamburg, KU music and dance professor.

Richard Harriman, Harriman Arts Program director at William Jewell College, Liberty, Mo.

Bernie Levine, Kansas City, Mo., attorney.

Barbara Nordling, KU Fine Arts Advisory Board member.

Fred Pawlicki, Lied Center interim director.

Lynwood Smith, New Generations chairman.

Linda Stewart, KU Fine Arts Advisory Board member.

Deanell Tacha, 10th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals judge.

Del Unruh, KU University Theatre director.

David Wilson, Kansas Arts Commission executive director.

Montgomery is the chairwoman of the committee. A student member will be named later. The committee's first meeting is scheduled after Labor Day. Montgomery hopes to name the new director by start of the spring semester.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.