Archive for Tuesday, September 28, 1999


September 28, 1999


Three KU professors

receive research awards

Three Kansas University professors and a Kansas State University professor have received the 1999 Higuchi/Endowment Research Achievement Award.

These winners, who receive $10,000 each to further their research, will be honored at a ceremony Oct. 7 in the Bruckmiller Room at Adams Alumni Center. The professors are:

  • Sudhansu Dey, KU Medical Center professor of molecular and integrative physiology, who earned the Dolph Simons Award for research achievement in the biomedical sciences.
  • Tyrone Duncan, KU professor of mathematics, who received the Olin K. Petefish Award for research achievement in the basic sciences.
  • Rex Martin, KU professor of philosophy, who received the Balfour S. Jeffrey Award for research achievement in the humanities and social sciences.
  • Jan Leach, distinguished professor of plant pathology at Kansas State University, who received the Irvin E. Youngberg Award for research achievement in the applied sciences.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.