Archive for Sunday, September 19, 1999


September 19, 1999


Who is on the Kansas State Board of Education, how did each one vote on teaching evolution, and when is the next election?

The vote was 6-4 in favor of new science standards that de-emphasize evolution as a significant element in annual statewide testing of Kansas public school students. Supporters were Steve Abrams of Arkansas City, Mary Douglass Brown of Wichita, Scott Hill of Abilene, John Bacon of Olathe (who represents Lawrence on the board), Harold Voth of Haven and Linda Holloway of Shawnee. The opponents were Bill Wagnon of Topeka, Val DeFever of Independence, Janet Waugh of Kansas City, Kan., and Sonny Rundell of Syracuse. The members are elected for four-year terms; some will face voters in 2001, while others don't face re-election until 2003.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.