Archive for Monday, November 8, 1999


November 8, 1999


If you needed advice on how to raise a steer or build a rocket or serge a seam or give a speech, the Douglas County 4-H Fairgrounds would have been a good place to be Sunday afternoon.

The 71st Annual Douglas County 4-H Achievement Celebration drew about 400 young people to receive recognition for their efforts.

Those honored represented the best of what 4-H has to offer, said Trudy Rice, county extension director.

"The people that have truly taken 4-H spirit to make the best better," Rice said of those in attendance.

The awards included the "I Dare You" Award, given to individuals with leadership ability. The award was received by Becky Skaggs of Palmyra 4-H Club and Jennifer Tallman of Worden Workers 4-H Club.

Samie Milligan of the Meadowlark 4-H Club received the Citizenship Award.

Key Awards, 4-H's highest honor, were received by Abigail Lawson, Jaclyn Polk and Kasey Moseley, all of Vinland Valley 4-H Club; Krystale Nunemaker of Jayhawk 4-H Club; and Jennifer Tallman.

Dane Johnson of Four Leaf Clover 4-H Club received the Spirit Award.

Marleen Harris of Worden Workers 4-H Club received the Alumni Award.

Ardyth Milburn of Worden Workers 4-H Club received the Dorothy Akin Leadership Award.

Barbara Retke was honored with the Friend of 4-H Award for her help with the 4-H dog programs.

And the Larry Wilson family was given the Family Award for their work as part of the Worden Workers 4-H Club.

-- Kendrick Blackwood's phone message number is 832-7221. His e-mail address is

Commenting has been disabled for this item.