Archive for Sunday, May 23, 1999


May 23, 1999


Faces and places

Rosana L. Sweeten was promoted to public service administrator I by the Kansas Highway Patrol in Salina. She had been communications specialist supervisor. Sweeten is a graduate of Lawrence High School and Kansas University. She also is a former employee of the Douglas County Sheriff's office.

  • Len Quick has joined Miller & Midyett Realtors. He has been a Realtor for 25 years, and was formerly a sales manager at Black & Decker.

  • Mark Griffith has been appointed a director and area coordinator for Pre-Paid Legal Services Inc. Oklahoma-based Pre-Paid designs, underwrites, and markets pre-paid legal service contracts across the nation. Griffith had been independent associate area coordinator.

  • Jon M. King was elected vice president of Mercantile Bank Trust & Investment Services. He has been with Mercantile for six years, with an emphasis on estate and tax planning. The Hays native is a graduate of the Kansas University School of Law.

  • Sound Sleep, a new musical audiotape, is available to help people achieve restful sleep. Kay Metzger, a Lawrence music therapist, has composed music and added vocal dialogue designed to release tension and enhance relaxation. For information, call (785) 841-2847, or Music is Sound Therapy at (785) 832-0100.

  • Tricia Karlin has been named technical services coordinator at the Lawrence Public Library, replacing Barbara White, who retired. Karlin is a Kansas University graduate with eight years experience at Kansas City Public Library.

  • The Kansas University Medical Center announced these physicians recently joined the medical staff: Charles E. Gessert, instructor, practices at KUMC. He earned his medical degree from KU and is serving a fellowship in primary care. Ralph J. Mann, assistant professor, sees patients at KUMC. Practice interests include the treatment of hypertension and hepatitis C. Donald B. Milligan, assistant professor, practices at KUMC. His clinical interest is the regulation of medication usage. Philip L. Rumbaoa assistant professor, practices at KU MedWest. He completed his medical school and family practice residency at KU School of Medicine. His practice interests are sports medicine, obstetrics and asthma.

  • Jeffrey C. Randall, an orthopedic surgeon at the Kansas Center for Athletic Medicine, was an instructor recently at a national conference sponsored by the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. Randall practices at Orthopaedic Surgery Associates PA and is on staff at Lawrence Memorial Hospital.

  • John Peppercorn, who retired as an officer of Chevron Corp. earlier this year, has joined the board of directors of Ameron International Corp. of Pasadena, Calif. He is a Hutchinson native and Kansas University graduate. Ameron produces coatings and product finishes.

  • Paul D. Stephenson, executive vice president of NationsBank Kansas, will retire June 30, the company said. He will be succeeded by David D. Hodge, who has been named Kansas commercial banking executive.

  • Dennis Carpenter has been appointed chief executive officer of the Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Assn. He had been vice president and general manager of Coca-Cola Bottling of Emporia Inc. and executive vice president and general manager of Debauge Bros. Inc. and Jayhawk Beverage Inc.

  • The Kansas Agriculture and Rural Leadership Program recently graduated 30 leaders in Kansas agriculture from a two-year training program. The class included two Lawrence-area graduates. They are: Eric J. Guenther, ag credit manager, USDA Farm Service Agency in Ottawa. Guenther also is a part-time ag producer. Steve Hennessey, farmer/field assistant, Shawnee County Farm Service Agency in Tecumseh.

Awards and honors

The Kansas University Medical Center recently honored several health professionals with 1999 alumni awards. David E. Yoder, a 1965 doctoral graduate from KU's School of Allied Health, was named that school's distinguished alumnus. He is chairman of the department of Allied Health at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Barbara P. Lukert was named honorary alumna by the alumni association of the School of Allied Health. She received her bachelor's degree from KU in 1956 and her MD from the School of Medicine in 1960. She is director of both KU Medical Center's osteoporosis clinic and metabolic laboratory. Ann Kuckelman Cobb was named distinguished alumna by the alumni association of the School of Allied Health. She received her 1967 bachelor's degree in nursing from KU and has advanced degrees in anthropology. She has been a professor in the School of Nursing since 1988. Helen R. Connors was named honorary alumna of the alumni association of the School of Nursing. She came to the School of Nursing in 1979, where she is associate dean for academic affairs. Marc A. Asher was named distinguished alumnus by the School of Medicine's alumni association. A 1962 graduate of KU's School of Medicine, he's been a professor at KU since 1972. Paul Schloerb was named honorary alumnus by the alumni association of the School of Medicine. He has been at KU for 37 years, and is now professor of surgery and director of nutritional support services.

  • Sallie Mae recently announced the recipients of its 1999 Community Service Awards, which honored 10 volunteers for their spirit of volunteerism and dedication to Lawrence. The winners received a $500 grant to the charitable organization of his or her choice. The winners were Lisa Arnett, Kristal Carver, Adrian Compton, Michelle Derusseau, Karen Feltner, Marti Lucero, Belinda Maples, Mike O'Connor, Robyne Pippert, and Peggy Vos.

  • The Better Business Bureau of Northeast Kansas was recognized by the national Council of Better Business Bureaus as meeting all standards, policies and requirements. The local bureau serves a 17-county area including Lawrence.

  • Thomas P. Armstrong of Fundamental Technologies LLC was notified recently that is Ulysses HISCALE Web page was selected for the Links2Go Key Resource Award. The page presents observation from deep space. The award honors Web pages for being one of the most relevant to space physics. The page can be viewed at

  • NationsBank recently was named the 1999 Corporation of the Year by the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Greater Kansas City.

Coming events

The K-10 Assn. is accepting nominations through Monday for this year's K-10 Service Award, which honors the individual or organization that has made an outstanding contribution towards promoting the goals of the association. For more information, call Rich Caplan at (785) 841-7166 or email to

  • The Lawrence Womens Network's annual spring meeting will be from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Thursday. The meeting will be at the club house of Prairie Commons Apartments, 5121 Congressional Circle. A salad supper is planned, and everyone is asked to bring a salad and the recipe to share. Guests welcome. For more information, call Debbie Liddell, (785) 841-2847, or Mary Jones (785) 838-8236.

  • Sun Promotions will have a ribbon cutting for its relocated offices at 4:30 p.m. Thursday at 3115 W. Sixth, Suite A.

  • How to Meet the Y2K Challenge, a workshop for small businesses and farming organizations, will be June 17 at the Holiday Inn -- Lenexa, 12601 W. 95th in Lenexa. The all-day session is sponsored by Kansas State University Cooperative Extension, Mid-America Manufacturing Technology Center, Kansas Small Business Development Center and the U.S. Small Business Administration. The workshop will run from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., and the cost if $59 per person, including lunch. To register, or for more information, call (888) 679-4333.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.