Archive for Tuesday, May 4, 1999


May 4, 1999


Basketball player Ryan Robertson and swimmer Adrienne Turner were named male and female senior scholar athletes of the year at the 1999 Kansas University academic achievement recognition reception held Monday at the Kansas Union.

Turner, from Goshen, Ind., placed 19th in the 200 butterfly and 29th in the 100 fly at the 1999 NCAA championships. She holds a 3.93 grade point average in advertising/broadcast management.

Robertson, from St. Charles, Mo., helped the Jayhawks to a 23-10 record and Big 12 postseason tournament title last season. He possesses a 3.65 GPA in business administration.

Both are academic All-Americans.

"Adrienne and Ryan exemplify everything we hope a student-athlete is going to be," Paul Buskirk, KU associate athletics director/student support services, said. "We're very proud of them."

Both student-athletes were overwhelmed by the recognition. Their awards were not listed on the programs distributed before the awards dinner.

"It's awesome. That's my sum-up -- it's awesome," said Robertson, a three-time academic all-Big 12 pick. "It's a great, great honor, something I'm extremely proud of. It's something I worked really hard for in the classroom and on the athletic field.

"I'm very happy for (Turner). When you think about it " a 3.93 grade point -- that makes anybody's grade point look pretty measly. She's obviously quite an athlete."

Turner said the award was "pretty unexpected. It took me off guard. I'm very honored."

The key to excellence in athletics and academics?

"I guess it's probably managing your time really well," Turner said. "I guess I put a certain amount of pressure on myself to excel. I am not happy unless I do my best."

All of KU's coaches attended and sat with honorees on their teams. Winners of Hale Achievement Center academic awards were: Muhammad Abdul-Rahim, football; Brooke Chiller, tennis; Andrew Davison, football; Rachel Fox, rowing; Ashante Johnson, basketball; Dariss Lomax, football; Shandy Robbins, basketball; Bob Schmidt, football; Carl Shazor, football; Jahmal Wright, football.

Paul Friedman, associate professor of communications, won the the Del Shankel teaching excellence award. Norma Henley, transcript credential evaluator, and Jerry Waugh, women's golf coach, won athletics department service awards.

Nearly 200 students were honored as Jayhawk Scholars after recording a GPA of 3.0 or better. In all, 25 Jayhawks recorded perfect 4.0 grade point averages in the fall and were recognized. Also, 99 students were recognized for making academic all-Big 12 teams.

"It's hard to mess with good material. These are the type of kids who are already skilled. They need a little bit of attention and then stay out of their way," Buskirk said.

-- Gary Bedore's phone number is 832-7186. His e-mail address is

Commenting has been disabled for this item.