Archive for Saturday, March 13, 1999


March 13, 1999


Free State senior point guard Jess Criswell was the lone selection from the city's two high schools to be named to the all-Sunflower League basketball team.

FSHS senior Jeff Dougherty and FSHS junior Marcus Chrisman received honorable mention. Lawrence High's Joe Bellinger, Bryce McMichael and Kingsley Uwadia also received honorable mention.

Lawrence High's Stephen Vinson joined Olathe East's Drew Mathews and Shawnee Mission North's Nathan Winslow as league sophomores of the years.

Shawnee Mission West's Matt Freije, a Vanderbilt signee, was a first-team selection and named player of the year.

Leavenworth, which won the Class 6A state title, dominated the all-league first team with three selections -- Nick Sanders, Wayne Simien and Lucious Wagner.

Other first-team selections were SM East's Roland Coppage and Adam Jones; Olathe South's Jeremy McFall and Ky O'Dell; SM West's Wes Thornton; SM South's David Glenn; SM Northwest's Josh Hydeman; Olathe North's Darren Jamison; Olathe East's Thomas Vincent; and SM North's Prentes Potts.

Larry Hogan, who guided Leavenworth to its first state title, was named coach of the year.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.