Archive for Tuesday, July 6, 1999


July 6, 1999


Who are the members of the city's Year 2000 computer group?

The Lawrence-Douglas Co. Y2K Community Information Task Force members are: Paula Phillips, Douglas County Emergency Management director; Bill Parrish, Kansas Public Service; Bud Park, Western Resources; Patrick Knorr, Sunflower Cablevision; Mike Scott, Southwestern Bell; Chad Lawhorn, Lawrence Business Ledger; Gary Toebben, Lawrence Chamber of Commerce; Jerry Manweiler, Fundamental Technology; Keith Ely, Free State Solutions; John Dillard, Kansas University; Nikki Rhea, Health Care Access; Tom Pagano, Lawrence Memorial Hospital; Dorothy Stites, Lawrence utilities department; Chris Mulvenon, Lawrence Police Department; Ted McFarlane, Lawrence-Douglas County Fire & Medical; Lawrence City Commissioner Marty Kennedy; Ron Hall, city of Lawrence, Information Systems; Dave Corliss, city of Lawrence, Legal Services; Gayle Martin, city of Lawrence, communications coordinator; Mike Eltschinger, Lawrence public schools; Janet Wright, financial institutions; Karen Davis, Lawrence Public Library.

The task force has developed a presentation, "The Year 2000 Problem and You," which reviews the history and nature of the problem, its impact on individuals and the community as a whole, as well as approaches to correcting it.

Organizations interested in scheduling this presentation for their group should contact Jessica Newsome, task force coordinator, by calling 832-3418.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.