Archive for Monday, February 22, 1999


February 22, 1999


The Heart of Healthcare awards program is now accepting nominations for outstanding registered nurses in Kansas and metropolitan Kansas City. Ten winners will be selected at an annual banquet in September in Kansas City, Kan.

Registered nurses who work in any setting are eligible for nomination. Each nominee will receive a letter of congratulations and certificate of recognition. More than 4,500 nurses have been nominated since the first awards were given in 1990.

The program is coordinated by the Kansas University School of Nursing and this year is sponsored by Hoechst Marion Roussel, Cerner Corp. and the Kansas City Regional Home Care Assn.

Past winners from Douglas, Franklin and Jefferson counties include Elizabeth Ann Ailor, Lawrence, staff nurse, Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department, 1992; Michael Brown, Lawrence, clinic nurse, Haskell Indian Junior College Health Center, 1990; Dixie Helm, Lawrence, nurse practitioner, Health Care Access, 1994; Tracy Lea Wolfe, Lawrence, clinic nurse, U.S. Public Health Service, Haskell Health Center, 1994; Carol Fischer, Ottawa, charge nurse, Ottawa Retirement Village, 1992; and Debra Nickels, Oskaloosa, administrator, Jefferson County Health Department and Home Health Agency, 1991.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.