Archive for Sunday, August 15, 1999


August 15, 1999


Here's a quick look at the members of the new Kansas Board of Regents.

The Kansas Board of Regents is composed of nine members appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the Kansas Senate.

In June, Gov. Bill Graves announced that four members of the old Board of Regents would remain when it was reconstituted July 1.

Regents are:

  • Clay Blair, Mission Hills Republican. Term expires 2001. On board since 1998. Owns Blair Services Corp., a real estate investment firm. KU doctorate in education, master's in business at Indiana University and bachelor's in accounting from KU. Former faculty member at Rockhurst College and Metropolitan Junior College. Donated land to KU in Overland Park for satellite campus.
  • Stephen Clark, Wichita Republican. Term expires 2002. Real estate broker. Bachelor's degree in business from Wichita State University. On WSU's endowment association executive committee and Wichita YMCA board of directors and was on Wichita Economic Development Commission for six years.
  • Harry Craig, Topeka Republican. Term expires 2001. Regent since 1997. Chairman and CEO of Martin Tractor Co., a Caterpillar dealership. Bachelor's degree and law degree at KU. Serves on board of Stormont-Vail Regional Medical Center, Parents as Teachers Community Advisory Council and Concerned Citizens of Topeka.
  • Janice DeBauge, Emporia Democrat. Term expires 2003. Piano and vocal teacher in the public and private sector for 30 years. Music degree at Southern Methodist University. Adjudicator for the National Guild of Piano Teachers. On Emporia Arts Council, Emporia State University President's Club and Kansas Music Teachers Assn.
  • Bill Docking, Arkansas City Democrat. Term expires 2001. Board chairman. President of Union State Bank in Arkansas City and board chairman of City National Bank and Trust Co. in Guymon, Okla. Managing member of Oxford oil production firm. Bachelor's, master's and law degrees at KU. Trustee of endowment associations at KU and Cowley County Community College.
  • Floris Jean Hampton, Dodge City Republican. Term expires 2002. Farmer and rancher. Bachelor of arts degree at College of Emporia. Trustee for 16 years at Dodge City Community College and immediate past president of Kansas Association of Community College Trustees.
  • Fred Kerr, Pratt Republican. Term expires 2003. Farms in Pratt, Hamilton and Kiowa counties in Kansas and Cimarron County in Oklahoma. Bachelor's degree at Oklahoma State University. Sixteen years in Kansas Senate, serving four as majority leader and 12 on education committee. Ran for governor in 1994.
  • Sylvia Robinson, Kansas City, Kan., Democrat. Term expires 2002. Regent since 1996. Director of strategic programs and planning at Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation. Three education degrees: doctorate and master's at KU and bachelor's at Kansas State University. Elected member of the Kansas City, Kan., school board from 1983 to 1997.
  • Jack Wempe, Little River Democrat. Term expires 2003. Real estate agent. Rockhurst College bachelor's degree and KU master's in education. Former school teacher, coach, principal and superintendent. In Kansas House, served eight years on tax, economic development and education committees. On governor's task force that studied higher education reform for 1999 Legislature.

-- Tim Carpenter's phone message number is 832-7155. His e-mail address is

Commenting has been disabled for this item.