Archive for Wednesday, April 28, 1999


April 28, 1999


The Women's Recognition Program honors administrators, faculty and students who have distinguished themselves at KU.

The Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center, along with the Kansas University Commission on the Status of Women, honored its founder Tuesday night.

Emily Taylor, former Kansas University dean of women, was named a mentor and guide for countless professional women. She was honored at the Women's Recognition Program, which honors administrators, faculty and students.

Taylor developed the Women's Resource and Career Planning Center. It was named after her in 1974, the year she left the university to become the director of the Office of Women in High Education. She retired in 1985.

She was named to the KU Women's Hall of Fame in 1971.

While she was with the university, she founded the country's first student commission on the status of women. For four years she produced and moderated a radio program called "A Feminist Perspective." She was instrumental in creating many student programs, including the Nunemaker Center for freshman advising and Hashinger Residence Hall for the creative arts.

Hall of Fame

Two women were named to KU Women's Hall of Fame, Dr. Joan Kraus Brunfeldt and Dean Karen Syms Gallagher.

Brunfeldt, medical director of Southwinds Rehabilitation & Care Center and Brandon Woods Retirement Community, studied microbiology and German at KU before pursuing medicine.

Brunfeldt was described as a beacon for women of all ages, in all area and fields.

The doctor is a member of the American College of Physicians, the Kansas Medical Society and the Douglas County Medical Society. She has participated in clinical breast cancer studies, as a patient, and is committed to preventing and treating the diseases that affect women.

Gallagher is dean of the School of Education. She has overseen the reorganization of the department, reducing its departments from six to four. She has published many articles, as well as a book, "Shaping School Policy: Guide to Choices, Politics and Community Relations."

She is a member of the American Association of School Administrators, American Educational Research Assn., Association for the Study of Higher Education, American Association for Higher Education, Phi Delta Kappa Honorary and the Association for the Severely Handicapped.

She is the vice chair of the Standards Board of the State Board of Education and an executive member of the Committee of Kansas Technology Facilitating Team for the U.S. Board of Education.

Outstanding staff members

Mary Ryan was named an Outstanding Woman Staff Member. She is the director of New Student Orientation. She developed and coordinated the Freshman Phone Calling Project, a program in which all freshmen are given a phone call by volunteers. The program "went a long way in letting students know that this isn't an impersonal institution and also helped to identify and refer some students who were in real trouble," Associate Provost Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett said.

Also named Outstanding Woman Staff Member was Teresa Rockhold. She is the scheduling officer for the Department of American Studies and has worked for the university for three decades. She was described as "being the center and strength of the departments, holding them together with ease and professionalism."

Outstanding teacher

The commission named Carol Warren as the Outstanding Woman Teacher of 1999. She is a professor in the KU Sociology Department. She was recently awarded a fellowship to take a semester to study Latin in the Classics Department.

"She is an amazing, amazing person, professor, a prolific author, the best mentor one can ask for and a colleague," Christine Robinson, a sociology doctoral student, said.

Other awards

Several KU students were honored as well. Lynn Pride, who led the women's basketball team in scoring, rebounds, steals and blocks, was named an Outstanding Woman Student in Athletics. Candace Mason also won the award. Mason is the 1998 Indoor and Outdoor Big 12 Performer of the Year and a heptathlon competitor and pole vaulter.

Erika Nutt, co-director of the Center for Community Outreach, was named Outstanding Woman in Community Service.

A mother of two from Eudora, Glenda Immer was named the Outstanding Nontraditional Woman Student. Jane Stoever, a co-founder of the new student organization Working Against Violence Everywhere, was recognized as the Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership. The chair of the Student Senate Executive Committee, Julie Numrich, was named the Outstanding Woman Student in Student Services. Brenda Tingfai Chung was awarded the Outstanding International Woman Student. She is a senior resident assistant at McCollum Hall, a member of the honors program and will be the Student Union Activities vice president next year.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.