Archive for Sunday, October 4, 1998


October 4, 1998


The recipients of the 1998 Higuchi/Endowment Research Achievement Awards at Kansas University were honored during a special ceremony last week at the Adams Alumni Center.

Winners will each receive a $10,000 award to further their research. The professors named to receive awards were:

  • Roger Shimomura, university distinguished professor of art at KU, who will receive the Balfour S. Jeffrey Award for research achievement in the humanities.
  • Thomas Taylor, senior curator in the KU Natural History Museum and chair of the department of systematics and ecology, who will receive the Olin K. Petefish Award for research achievement in basic sciences.
  • Joan Hunt, professor of anatomy and cell biology and professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, KU Medical Center, who will receive the Dolph Simons Award for research achievement in the biomedical sciences.
  • Ramesh Agarwal, Bloomfield distinguished professor of aerospace engineering and executive director of the National Institute for Aviation Research, Wichita State University, who will receive the Irvin E. Youngberg Award for research achievement in applied sciences.

The awards were established in 1981 by Takeru Higuchi, university Regents distinguished professor of pharmaceutical chemistry and chemistry, and his wife, Aya.

In establishing the awards, the Higuchis stipulated that faculty members at all Kansas Board of Regents institutions be eligible. The annual awards are named for people who have worked through the KU Endowment Association to further the university's overall research program.

Recipients may use their awards for research materials, summer salaries, fellowship matching funds, research assistance or other support.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.