Archive for Saturday, November 21, 1998


November 21, 1998


The Kansas Pharmacists Assn. has named a Kansas University professor the Pharmacist of the Year.

Gene Hotchkiss, a faculty member of KU's School of Pharmacy, and other Lawrence residents received awards during the recent Kansas Pharmacists Assn. conference here.

Hotchkiss organized an entrepreneurial opportunities group at KU and a road trip for students to visit independent pharmacies throughout the state. He is involved in the university's School of Pharmacy camp for high school students and serves on the Kansas Pharmacists Assn.'s board of trustees.

Greg Burger, Lawrence, was named the Distinguished Young Pharmacist, sponsored by the Pharmacist Mutual Companies in Algona, Iowa. Burger, a clinical pharmacist at Lawrence Memorial Hospital, is also an adjunct clinical professor at the KU School of Pharmacy.

Kevin Waite, Lawrence, received the Health-System Pharmacist of the Year Award, which is sponsored by Pfizer Pharmaceuticals. Waite is the pharmacy supervisor at Stormont-Vail HealthCare in Topeka.

Adam Lyddane, Lawrence, received the Kansas Society of Health-System Pharmacists Board Award for Innovative Clinical Practice. Lyddane is a doctor of pharmacy candidate at KU.

Barbara Woods was presented the Harold N. Godwin Lecture Award at the conference. Woods, Lawrence, is director of pharmacy postgraduate education and clinical assistant professor in the department of pharmacy practice at KU's School of Pharmacy.

Jeanie Brown, Lawrence, received the Board of Trustees Award. A pharmacist for NCS HealthCare in Topeka, Brown has been involved with the Kansas Pharmacist Assn.'s committee on impaired practice program for 10 years.

Ken Mishler, Lawrence, was renamed as the secretary-treasurer of the Kansas Society of Health-System Pharmacists. The one-year term begins in January.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.