Archive for Sunday, May 24, 1998


May 24, 1998


Three Lawrence High School students have been selected National Merit Scholarship winners in the college-sponsored portion of the National Merit Scholarship Corp. program.

Laura Darnell has received a Merit Scholarship from Harding University in Searcy, Ark. Emily Lowrance-Floyd has received a a Merit Scholarship from Carleton College in Northfield, Minn., and Hannah Petr has received a scholarship from Abilene Christian University in Abilene, Tex.

The college-sponsored awards provide between $250 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution providing the funding.

Area schools participate

in Scholars' Bowl

The 12th annual Kansas State High School Activities Assn. State Scholars' Bowl 5A Championship Tournament was held March 21 at Valley Center High School, Valley Center.

Free State High School placed fourth in overall competition.

DeSoto High School placed third in the 4A division, held in Beloit.

The KSHSAA 4A State Speech Championships were held May 2 at Topeka-Highland Park High School. Tonganoxie High School placed second in the competition.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.