Archive for Sunday, May 17, 1998


May 17, 1998


Three Kansas University alumni and one professor were honored with the 1998 Distinguished Service Citations.

The four were recognized at the All-University Supper on Friday. The award, given jointly by the university and the alumni association, are the highest honor for service the university bestows, Jennifer Sanner of the Kansas University Alumni Association said. It has been given since 1941.

Steven A. Hawley, Ivory V. Nelson, Rosalie Erwin Wahl and Francis H. Heller received the citations.

Hawley, class of 1973, is the deputy director of flight crew operations for NASA. He will fly his fifth space shuttle mission in December.

Nelson, who received his doctorate in 1963, is the president of Central Washington University. He was the first African-American to earn a doctorate from KU in analytical chemistry.

Wahl, class of 1946, is the chief justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court.

Heller is a professor emeritus of law and political science at KU. He has been at KU for 50 years.

More than 150 people attended the annual banquet at the Adams Alumni Center on Friday night.

Several others were also honored at the banquet. The Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Classroom Teaching went to faculty members of the KU Medical Center, including Virginia Cassmeyer, associate professor of nursing; Janet D. Pierce, associate professor of nursing; Allen B. Rawitch, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology; and John G. Wood, assistant professor of molecular and integrative physiology.

The Ned N. Fleming Trust Awards went to Naomi Bolotin, assistant professor of linguistics, and Christopher M. Johnson, an assistant professor of music and dance. The H. Bernerd Fink Award went to Karen Nordheden, an assistant professor of electrical engineering and computer science. The Archie and Nancy Dykes Teaching Award went to Paul Markham, an associate professor of teaching and leadership.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.