Archive for Wednesday, May 13, 1998


May 13, 1998


Calling several area high school seniors ``tomorrow's leaders,'' Gov. Bill Graves recently honored students at the 15th Annual Governor's Scholars Award Program in Topeka.

``I am pleased to be able to recognize the talents, skills, and abilities they bring to their schools, communities and families,'' Graves said.

The recognition ceremony honors the top academic one percent of Kansas high school seniors. Scholars are selected from accredited public and private schools in the state.

The program is coordinated for the governor by the Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force. It is funded by donations from the Kansas Bankers Assn. and other private sector businesses in Kansas.

Students receiving the award include Johnelle Nuspl, Baldwin High School; Aidan Loveland, Free State High School; and Laura Darnell, Kristy Johnson, Marisa Porzig, Matthew Ring, Luke Shulenburger, Hana Takusaguwa, Christopher Wilkins and Elizabeth Yoder, Lawrence High School.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.